17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My 19 year old son picked this recipe in his search for a healthy on-the-go breakfast. He really likes them. I did substitute a sweeter jonagold so I can slightly cut back on the honey. I also upped the apples to about 3 cups without a problem and subbed low fat milk for whole. I did put a really thin smear of almond butter on the tortilla before wrapping. I'm planning to double the batch next time and trying some with a brush of butter and baked till crispy. These are excellent reheated too. Thank you for adding another keeper to our recipe file :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
concretegirl December 05, 2009

Very good, easy, and filling. I bought a package of tortillas and scaled the recipe accordingly. I left half my apples in bigger chunks and diced the rest, used skim milk, and low-sugar applebutter we put up last fall. I froze them all in large ziploc bags, and it is sooo easy to pull some out of the freezer, wrap in a paper towel and microwave for 90 seconds. My boys love these dipped in a mixture of peanut butter and maple syrup or honey. I love it becasue it is a quick breakfast, perfect for on-the-go and healthy to boot. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizbits August 28, 2007

This was fun new recipe to try for a quick breakfast. It was a little too sweet for our tastes but a nice way to mix things up. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 28, 2014

We loved this recipe! I found it a bit sweet with the apple butter on the tortilla, so I left if off, but still delicious!! A wonderful change of pace for oatmeal. I used skim milk rather than the whole, and cooked it ahead of time, and simply reheated while we were camping for breakfast. So easy and so yummy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichMom August 21, 2011

The oatmeal lovers enjoyed these while the oatmeal haters were less than impressed. The filling was very good but seemed a little strange to me to be in a wrap. My wraps were very full so maybe less filling would have helped. Thanks for a healthy recipe. I will make the filling again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen August 30, 2009

These were really good, and even satisfied the picky teen. Saylaveev mentioned them in the camping thread, so I cooked up the filling at home, and packed up the remaining ingredients. I gave the campers 2 options: preparing their wrap with apple butter (really really good) or 100% Natural Peanut Butter. The PB eaters got a higher-protien/lower carb wrap that was *VERY* filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lightly Toasted August 03, 2009

This was quite delicious - though it maybe could use a little more flavor. Maybe some nuts? Dried cranberries? I made multiple recipes (4x, I think) and brought them to Christmas brunch at my parents' house as a healthier alternative to the all the eggs, sausage, bacon, cheese and potato dishes. Leftovers have kept in the fridge very well - there really weren't enough to freeze! I'd definitely make this again and play with the mix of flavors a little. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisLady January 02, 2009

This was ok, Dh thought it was good just a little different. I thought is was a little bland, and added a little cinnamon sugar to it. But I did freeze the extras and that was great. Tastes better the 2nd day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkm.11.18. October 16, 2007

Its not too often I give a 5 star review. We found it tastes like a apple pie. Here's the 2 adjustments I made for our taste after doing the original. We added more brown sugar and cinnamon. We also used 2% lactose free milk (for DH). We didn't use the apple butter and found that we didn't need it, I also left it a bit chunky. We took it camping and you can easily freeze the filling in ziplock bags and heat it up at a campsite. Just bring the wraps with you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saylaveev May 22, 2007

We had this for supper tonight... It was a huge hit. I have been craving sweet things like crazy lately and this was a healthy alternative to the ice cream and cookies I have been indulging in!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpottswwjd April 09, 2007
Apple Jack Breakfast Wraps