Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Baked French Toast With Praline Topping Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked French Toast With Praline Topping

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2011

      My family really liked this. It reminded us of bread pudding. I used Italian bread, because it's all I had, and decreased the butter by 25%. Also, I made just a half recipe, and baked it in an 8 inch square pan. As others have noted, this casserole is so good, it doesn't need any syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      This was so delicious and took no time at all! I made it for my annual Mothers' Day brunch. No one felt the need for maple syrup. I substituted a dense bakery bread (couldn't find challah) and used only 1/2 c half-n-half and 2 1/2 c soy milk. At the end of baking it did bubble up over the pan so be sure to put a pan underneath. I might try half the butter in the praline topping next time to cut back on the calories. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Smiley, stickey faces on Sunday morning. Thank you for making the morning special!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Wow how impressive it looks when it comes out of the oven… looks like a souffle! I followed the recipe exactly, except I put it in two pans… one for us… one for our neighbor. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Made this for Mother's Day so the kids could give mom something special. It was a spectacular hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      the praline topping really makes this - it was super easy and baked up wonderfully! I'd definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

    • on December 26, 2007

      I made this for Christmas morning. I cooked it about 10 minutes longer than recipe calls for b/c I wanted it crispy on top. It looked impressive, as it was bulging from my 9x13 dish and stood very tall. It was good, a bit rich. I would make it again, but I could only eat a small piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I made this for Mother's Day Brunch and it was fantastic! Everyone loved it. I'm not a huge fan of nuts, but the praline topping made the dish! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      I served this for a family-birthday brunch and it was a hit. My family was skeptical of my cooking, since this was my first time cooking for a family event. But everybody was asking for the recipe...I think somebody took my book with all my recipes from this site, but I will recover it. And I had to sneak some off for myself, I took it home for the next day and it was just as good. Thanks Kozmic Blues!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I made this for an Easter Brunch at my inlaws and everyone went absolutely crazy over it. I believe that this is the Paula Deen recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      I did it! I made this recipe (six times) to feed our church members for a special breakfast today. It really is simple to make for a crowd. I just lightly mixed the milk mixture in a blender and I mixed the topping the night before and stored on the counter in Ziplock bags (made for easy clean up).I used some 13x9 foil pans and 1 lb French bread. This turned out perfectly and I received MANY compliments! The best compliment was when someone asked if there was yeast in it, like in cinnamon rolls. I explained that it just puffs up when baked. I think that is the neatest part of it! I had pancake syrup for a topping but most ate it plain (but this dish is anything but plain!) and sprinkled it liberally with powdered sugar. For ease of cutting I reccomend lining the two layers up together. I suggest to others to let the casserole rest before cutting and lift up some pieces of the bread so the melted butter distributes throughout the pan. This looked gorgeous and I think it was the "hit" of the breakfast (if I do say so myself!). Thanks Kozmic Blues, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      Made this for a bridal brunch and it was superb! Only addition that I made was about 1/3-1/2 cup or pure maple syrup. OMG, positively sinful! I served it with sifted powdered sugar and heated maple syrup on the side. Your choice of either or (if you like to push the envelope)both!!!!! Thanks for sharing will definitely make again, and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      This is wonderful , great for company! make the night before. Don't need syrup ! loved it . Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2004

      Reminded me of pralines from New Orleans..excellent taste. My step children are very picky and critical of my cooking and they loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked French Toast With Praline Topping

    Serving Size: 1 (264 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 720.2
     
    Calories from Fat 426
    59%
    Total Fat 47.3 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 22.4 g
    112%
    Cholesterol 273.6 mg
    91%
    Sodium 596.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 32.9 g
    131%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes