18 Reviews

I never did this before, but I just had to add to my previous review. These are so good, so easy to prepare, I now make them every time I have bananas that are getting too ripe. Last night I made them with some chopped walnuts in them. I put them on a plate on the kitchen counter, and the family just grabs them in passing....they disappear quickly!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie April 02, 2003

Very nice muffin! I only had one banana so I halved the recipe. A few conversion hints: a 200 degree CELCIUS oven is 392 degrees FAHRENHEIT or pretty close to a 400 degree F oven temperature. 100 g of butter translates to 6 Tbsp. +2 tsp. (but I used less ~ 2 Tbsp. for my halved amount). It turned out great. (The halved recipe made seven muffins.) Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making January 11, 2010

This is a great recipe. I used coconut oil in place of butter and reduced the sugar a tiny bit, the first time. The second time I used less sugar and coconut oil again, and used shredded Apple instead of banana. I also added dried cranberries and raisins. These are great morning snacks, and my kids love them. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashdoes March 03, 2015

Great muffins! We needed to use up 2 bananas and some oat bran so this recipe was perfect in using up the ingredients plus taste great! And healthier than some other recipes too! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ February 06, 2014

Very nice!I added chopped walnuts, and in my second batch I included a small amount of frozen mixed berries. The berries did stop them from being quite as light and fluffy, but were still very good. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Thompson March 02, 2010

I can never follow a recipe. I always change it somehow, but it still turned out 5 stars. I only used 2 tsp of baking powder, added a pinch of salt (a little salt makes anything taste better), I did half plain flour and half wholewheat flour, cut the butter down to a quarter cup and increased the milk to half a cup. I only had bran flakes, so I let them soak in the milk before mixing them in. The muffins tasted great though. A definate five stars, even with my healthier version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Asher&DarcysMommy October 21, 2009

I actually modified this recipe so much I'm not sure if I can still call it the same one... but it turned out amazing so 5 stars! I halved the sugar, replaced about a quarter or the bran with wheat germ and used multigrain flour instead of white. Also replaced half the butter with applesauce and added frozen blueberries. I'm glad I doubled the recipe because these are so good! I'm not sure why there was so much baking powder in this recipe but kept it the same anyways.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian Baker March 01, 2009

Easy to make for a novice baker like myself. Thanks Calee for translating the metric measurement of butter. I added some pecans to half the batch, made them even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill From New Mexico May 24, 2008

This is a very good bran muffin, very moist unlike other bran muffin recipes I've tried.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theduryz2 April 10, 2008

Oh my these are very good! A nice change from our regular bran muffins, these are very moist and have a ton of flavor my bananas were extremely ripe which added to the sweetness factor of these muffins. I measured 7 tbsp of butter then melted it in the mircowave. I was out of regular milk but did have some buttermilk so I used that, Im going to sub buttermilk next time as well. Baked them at 400 for 10 minutes using a square muffin pan. Thanks Evie* for another fantastic muffin recipe that will go into my binder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee March 11, 2008
Banana Bran Muffins