17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I never did this before, but I just had to add to my previous review. These are so good, so easy to prepare, I now make them every time I have bananas that are getting too ripe. Last night I made them with some chopped walnuts in them. I put them on a plate on the kitchen counter, and the family just grabs them in passing....they disappear quickly!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie April 02, 2003

Very nice muffin! I only had one banana so I halved the recipe. A few conversion hints: a 200 degree CELCIUS oven is 392 degrees FAHRENHEIT or pretty close to a 400 degree F oven temperature. 100 g of butter translates to 6 Tbsp. +2 tsp. (but I used less ~ 2 Tbsp. for my halved amount). It turned out great. (The halved recipe made seven muffins.) Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making January 11, 2010

Great muffins! We needed to use up 2 bananas and some oat bran so this recipe was perfect in using up the ingredients plus taste great! And healthier than some other recipes too! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ February 06, 2014

Very nice!I added chopped walnuts, and in my second batch I included a small amount of frozen mixed berries. The berries did stop them from being quite as light and fluffy, but were still very good. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Thompson March 02, 2010

I can never follow a recipe. I always change it somehow, but it still turned out 5 stars. I only used 2 tsp of baking powder, added a pinch of salt (a little salt makes anything taste better), I did half plain flour and half wholewheat flour, cut the butter down to a quarter cup and increased the milk to half a cup. I only had bran flakes, so I let them soak in the milk before mixing them in. The muffins tasted great though. A definate five stars, even with my healthier version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Asher&DarcysMommy October 21, 2009

I actually modified this recipe so much I'm not sure if I can still call it the same one... but it turned out amazing so 5 stars! I halved the sugar, replaced about a quarter or the bran with wheat germ and used multigrain flour instead of white. Also replaced half the butter with applesauce and added frozen blueberries. I'm glad I doubled the recipe because these are so good! I'm not sure why there was so much baking powder in this recipe but kept it the same anyways.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian Baker March 01, 2009

Easy to make for a novice baker like myself. Thanks Calee for translating the metric measurement of butter. I added some pecans to half the batch, made them even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill From New Mexico May 24, 2008

This is a very good bran muffin, very moist unlike other bran muffin recipes I've tried.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theduryz2 April 10, 2008

Oh my these are very good! A nice change from our regular bran muffins, these are very moist and have a ton of flavor my bananas were extremely ripe which added to the sweetness factor of these muffins. I measured 7 tbsp of butter then melted it in the mircowave. I was out of regular milk but did have some buttermilk so I used that, Im going to sub buttermilk next time as well. Baked them at 400 for 10 minutes using a square muffin pan. Thanks Evie* for another fantastic muffin recipe that will go into my binder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee March 11, 2008

I added an extra banana and used Ener-G egg replacer adn soymilk to make these vegan and they turned out really good. Like others mentioned, these are fluffy (almost cakelike) not dense like most bran muffins. Really good. Next time, I might add some cinnamon and vanilla and walnuts and cut back on the sugar (although these aren't too sweet). 100g of butter is approx 7 tablespoons and 200 C is about 400 degrees farenheit for those of us in the states

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggiepig December 02, 2007
Banana Bran Muffins