Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Banana Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Banana Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2003

      I never did this before, but I just had to add to my previous review. These are so good, so easy to prepare, I now make them every time I have bananas that are getting too ripe. Last night I made them with some chopped walnuts in them. I put them on a plate on the kitchen counter, and the family just grabs them in passing....they disappear quickly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Very nice muffin! I only had one banana so I halved the recipe. A few conversion hints: a 200 degree CELCIUS oven is 392 degrees FAHRENHEIT or pretty close to a 400 degree F oven temperature. 100 g of butter translates to 6 Tbsp. +2 tsp. (but I used less ~ 2 Tbsp. for my halved amount). It turned out great. (The halved recipe made seven muffins.) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Great muffins! We needed to use up 2 bananas and some oat bran so this recipe was perfect in using up the ingredients plus taste great! And healthier than some other recipes too! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Very nice!I added chopped walnuts, and in my second batch I included a small amount of frozen mixed berries. The berries did stop them from being quite as light and fluffy, but were still very good. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I can never follow a recipe. I always change it somehow, but it still turned out 5 stars. I only used 2 tsp of baking powder, added a pinch of salt (a little salt makes anything taste better), I did half plain flour and half wholewheat flour, cut the butter down to a quarter cup and increased the milk to half a cup. I only had bran flakes, so I let them soak in the milk before mixing them in. The muffins tasted great though. A definate five stars, even with my healthier version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I actually modified this recipe so much I'm not sure if I can still call it the same one... but it turned out amazing so 5 stars! I halved the sugar, replaced about a quarter or the bran with wheat germ and used multigrain flour instead of white. Also replaced half the butter with applesauce and added frozen blueberries. I'm glad I doubled the recipe because these are so good! I'm not sure why there was so much baking powder in this recipe but kept it the same anyways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      Easy to make for a novice baker like myself. Thanks Calee for translating the metric measurement of butter. I added some pecans to half the batch, made them even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      This is a very good bran muffin, very moist unlike other bran muffin recipes I've tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      Oh my these are very good! A nice change from our regular bran muffins, these are very moist and have a ton of flavor my bananas were extremely ripe which added to the sweetness factor of these muffins. I measured 7 tbsp of butter then melted it in the mircowave. I was out of regular milk but did have some buttermilk so I used that, Im going to sub buttermilk next time as well. Baked them at 400 for 10 minutes using a square muffin pan. Thanks Evie* for another fantastic muffin recipe that will go into my binder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I added an extra banana and used Ener-G egg replacer adn soymilk to make these vegan and they turned out really good. Like others mentioned, these are fluffy (almost cakelike) not dense like most bran muffins. Really good. Next time, I might add some cinnamon and vanilla and walnuts and cut back on the sugar (although these aren't too sweet). 100g of butter is approx 7 tablespoons and 200 C is about 400 degrees farenheit for those of us in the states

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      I love this recipe! I've made them twice. I made a few adjustments. I used wheat flour instead of white, and splenda (vs sugar). I also used 4 bananas (vs 2) and tossed in a hand full of pecan pieces. Thank you! I will make these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      These were very good. I added a bit of banana extract as well just to "banana" them up a bit more. Worked well!! Thanks for the post Evie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      I am always looking for recipes that use unprocessed wheat bran vs. bran cereal, and these muffins are excellent. I love how light they are - there's none of that heavy denseness you get with so many bran muffins. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Light, healthy, easy and yummy... what more do you want? I make this all the time and add an extra banana, 1/2 c milk and 1 t vanilla - perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2006

      Nice, light & easy to make muffins. Healthy too :) Will be in my 'keeper' file :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2006

      Very good,added a few dried cranberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2005

      I tried this one and found them to be delicious. My only problem is they went to fast. very moist muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Banana Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (801 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.1
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    41%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 71.6 mg
    23%
    Sodium 260.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 15.4 g
    61%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites