13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A quick after school snack! I suggest using the small chocolate chips also, and maybe topping the muffins with some before baking. This recipe made about 40 mini muffins that took about 12 minutes to bake. Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen April 25, 2008

Hmmmm I don't know what happened I seen all the rave reviews and thought for sure these were going to be a winner boy was I wrong! I was pretty disappointed in them. They tasted fine but mine turned out on the dry side and very dense.They did bake up beautifuly though. I think ill keep searching.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 May 04, 2013

This is a great recipe. I added 1-tsp vanilla, made one batch with chocolate chips, the other with blueberries! Its so yummy! thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waialealenui August 05, 2012

These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written. They were really good warm but got a bit hard once they cooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 14, 2011

Very good recipe. My son loves them so much. I may have to do it again real soon. Thanks Simply Sarah :) Made for I Recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 18, 2011

A very nice basic recipe, that was easy to prepare and baked up beautifully! The muffins had a lovely soft interior with a crunchy top and tasted moreish! YUM!
I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, cause I dont like my muffins too sweet and that was perfect with the sweetness from the chocolate. I think this recipe could easily be modified by adding in vanilla or cinnamon or maybe dried fruit instead of chocolate. The possibilities are endless and I will definitely try out some of them.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this tasty treat with us, Sarah!
Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag Game August 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 06, 2010

I was looking for a quick, simple chocolate chip muffin recipe and this one definitely fit the bill. When first mixing up the batter I wondered how they would turn out, as the batter was oily and elastic, but the muffins rose up beautifully and had a wonderful consistency when done. The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because the muffins seemed to be missing something. I think they would have tasted better if some vanilla had been added to the batter, and perhaps some melted butter (substituted for part of the oil). This is a great basic recipe. I will definitely make these again, with my modifications.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys June 28, 2010

Not bad at all. crispy outside, soft inside. used 1% milk and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. weird batter, but good muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy June 08, 2009

A very yummy little muffin indeed. Best part is it is so very simple! My muffins were done by 17 minutes. I will make again. Thx Simply Sarah.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 07, 2009

quick easy and tasty. I found the salt a bit too much, but it certainly satisfied my chocolate-chip craving!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dsavir December 09, 2008
Basic Chocolate Chip Muffins