Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Basic Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Basic Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2008

      A quick after school snack! I suggest using the small chocolate chips also, and maybe topping the muffins with some before baking. This recipe made about 40 mini muffins that took about 12 minutes to bake. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      Hmmmm I don't know what happened I seen all the rave reviews and thought for sure these were going to be a winner boy was I wrong! I was pretty disappointed in them. They tasted fine but mine turned out on the dry side and very dense.They did bake up beautifuly though. I think ill keep searching.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      This is a great recipe. I added 1-tsp vanilla, made one batch with chocolate chips, the other with blueberries! Its so yummy! thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written. They were really good warm but got a bit hard once they cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      Very good recipe. My son loves them so much. I may have to do it again real soon. Thanks Simply Sarah :) Made for I Recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      A very nice basic recipe, that was easy to prepare and baked up beautifully! The muffins had a lovely soft interior with a crunchy top and tasted moreish! YUM!
      I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, cause I dont like my muffins too sweet and that was perfect with the sweetness from the chocolate. I think this recipe could easily be modified by adding in vanilla or cinnamon or maybe dried fruit instead of chocolate. The possibilities are endless and I will definitely try out some of them.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this tasty treat with us, Sarah!
      Made and reviewed for I Recommend Tag Game August 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      I was looking for a quick, simple chocolate chip muffin recipe and this one definitely fit the bill. When first mixing up the batter I wondered how they would turn out, as the batter was oily and elastic, but the muffins rose up beautifully and had a wonderful consistency when done. The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because the muffins seemed to be missing something. I think they would have tasted better if some vanilla had been added to the batter, and perhaps some melted butter (substituted for part of the oil). This is a great basic recipe. I will definitely make these again, with my modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Not bad at all. crispy outside, soft inside. used 1% milk and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. weird batter, but good muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      A very yummy little muffin indeed. Best part is it is so very simple! My muffins were done by 17 minutes. I will make again. Thx Simply Sarah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      quick easy and tasty. I found the salt a bit too much, but it certainly satisfied my chocolate-chip craving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      I'm a novice baker and this was my first time baking muffins. The only two changes I made were to add 1/2 tsp of vanilla essence to the wet ingredients, and I added the chocolate chips to the dry ingredients instead of adding them after mixing everything else together, since I was afraid I might end up over-mixing. I was a little worried since the batter was slightly thicker than what I thought it would be (not sure if that's how it's supposed to be, but it was probably a result of me making a mess of measuring the flour as usual... I tend to press the measuring cup against the side of the flour bin while scooping up the flour, inadvertently packing in a little more than needed). However, the muffins turned out just the way I like them... nice and moist on the inside, a high top with a slightly crunchy edge, which softened as they cooled a little, and were packed with yummy, chocolate-y goodness. I got 6 regular sizes (baked at 200C for exactly 20 mins) and 10 minis (baked at 200C for close to 15 mins). Overall, I wasn't disappointed with the recipe and it's a definite keeper. TY for posting, Sarah.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      These are fabulous! I tripled the recipe so I could take a bunch to my nephew's first communion. I made them as directed and they were moist and went over well. A tad crumbly, but still wonderful. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I don't know why you say these are nothing special? These muffins are simple to make and have a nice dense consistancy and great flavor! My kids could hardly wait for them to cool to break into one. I had to use mini-chocolate chips but that just made them more chocolaty - which is fine by this gal! I got 12 standard size muffins and 6 minis. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Basic Chocolate Chip Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.6
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    40%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 15.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 204.6 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites