Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Berry Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Berry Muffins

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2013

      As others have noted, the muffins from this recipe are not very sweet. That's fine for me, but knowing who I was making them for, I increased the sugar by about 70% and, with the added fruit, the sweetness ended up just about right. I also doubled the fruit, which might have been a little too much, as it turned out almost more like a tart than a muffin (but still yummy). I'd suggest a 50% increase in fruit. <br/><br/>One of my pet peeves in recipes is when the "preparation time" is unrealistically low. That was the case here. Five minutes?? Having none of the ingredients measured out in advance, it took me 20 minutes between when I started and when the muffins were in the oven. (Okay, I did answer the doorbell, so maybe I could have done it 17 or 18 minutes, but there's no way the prep could take only 5 minutes starting from scratch.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2003

      Very good muffins. Especially as I added some turbinado sugar to the tops before baking. Thanks for the ice cream scoop suggestion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2003

      These are delightful muffins, leeannr! I used a combination of frozen blueberries and raspberries which proved to be an exceptional combination. I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar to the mixture for a little added sweetness and used a jumbo muffin tin to make 6 beautiful muffins. Thank you for these Berry, Berry Good Muffins, leeannr!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2014

      We like our muffins on the less sweet side and with a bit of earthy texture. I made a few changes to this recipe, and my husband declared this the best muffin he has had in a long time. Here is what I did: I used all white whole wheat flour plus about 1/4 cup of ground flax seed meal, decreased the sugar in the muffin by about 1 tablespoon, decreased the butter by half, added a tablespoon of vinegar and a spoonful of plain yogurt to the milk to make sour milk (which helped keep the muffin light) increased the berries by 50%, and sprinkled raw sugar on top. I let them sit on the counter in the pan for a few minutes before putting them into the oven. the batter filled a standard muffin pan, plus a tiny loaf pan. They had a cornmeal-like texture, but were light and full of fruit with just the right amount of sweetness and a crisp edge. Sooo good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Did everything exactly as written in the recipe and the muffins were flat and very bitter. Waste of perfectly good berries. :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      These were a hit in my house. I used a frozen berry mix, which I found to be a bit bitter. The men loved them just they way they are but I'm a bit of a sweet tooth and might sprinkle a little sugar over them the next time. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      My family loves these muffins. They are not too sweet. I make them them with frozen sliced strawberries or frozen blueberries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2006

      Very yummy! Next time I will use muffin pan liners though, as the muffins were so moist, they were difficult to remove from the pan. Delicious :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      The muffins were easy to make. I doubled the berry amount (two cups frozen mixed berries) and baked them a little longer. They turned out great and my kids liked them. I liked them because they are not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      This recipe was delicious! It is definitely a 5*! I used 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and Splenda instead of sugar. I did use the mixed, frozen berries, cutting up the big strawberries, and it was just great for breakfast this morning. The best recommendation is that my husband loved them! Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      I'm sorry to say I was kind of dissapointed in these muffins, which I made with a frozen three berry mix. They were bland & a bit heavy. Perhaps I did something wrong, but they just didn't live up to the other reviews. I think if I made them again, I would double the fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      These are VERY good! I used frozen blueberries. I didn't change a thing! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      These were soooooooo good! I didn't change a thing. I used frozen blueberries, and they were very tasty. Thanks for a great muffin recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Muffins Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Berry Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (818 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 443.8
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    40%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 95.1 mg
    31%
    Sodium 662.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    berries

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes