19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good! I did as Bayhill suggested and used 2 cups of berries and lemon extract instead of the vanilla. I also topped them with Quick Blueberry Sauce #301751. Just make sure your waffle iron is greased well or the blueberries will stick to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW July 19, 2014

Delicious! We loved these light, crispy waffles. I had an overabundance of blueberries from a trip to the local pick-your-own blueberry farm, so I added 2 cups instead of 1 cup. That amount of blueberries worked perfectly for us. Also, instead of vanilla, I used lemon extract. I love the combination of lemon and blueberries...yum. I topped these waffles with Quick Blueberry Sauce #301751 which sent them over the top. Thank you ~Nimz~ for sharing this keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 06, 2014

A heaping cup of blueberries worked well for me. Super waffles, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird October 26, 2013

These are wonderfully light and crispy waffles. Love the tang of the buttermilk with the sweet berries! And they go together in no time flat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs August 31, 2011

These were very good waffles. Love those blueberries. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn March 22, 2010

I thought they were good, but I've gotten used to yeast waffles (nothing compares to them!), so I don't think it's fair for me to rate these when I already have a favorite waffle recipe. I was looking for a blueberry waffle recipe, though, and I didn't have time to prep a yeast batter (which takes overnight), so I chose this recipe to make. I found these to be good, basic waffles. A good solid reliable recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen August 12, 2009

Very good. Great texture...just the right combination of fluffy and crispy. Good flavor and love the blueberries. I used 2 t. sugar and increased the vanilla to 1 t. Next time I may also add 1/2 t. maple flavoring. Thank you for a great recipe! My husband loved the waffles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms July 12, 2009

ABSOLUTELY GREAT TASTING WAFFLES! We enjoyed the use of whole wheat flour here as well as the buttermilk & berries! I did use frozen blueberries & ended up topping the waffles with a homemade blueberry sauce! Couldn't have been better! Thanks for a great keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 29, 2008

Fluffy, crispy and wonderful! Makes a bunch too, we had for breakfast then I froze the rest for later! Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHERBUSTLE September 17, 2008

Nimz, this is a great recipe! I cut some calories and fat by making my own buttermilk (skim + 2 T. lemon juice), subbed natural applesauce for the butter, and used Splenda in place of sugar. Even with all the changes, these were light, fluffy with a crispy crust and delicious flavor! Perfecto! Thanks Nimzie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick September 06, 2008
Blueberry Buttermilk Waffles