8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved how quick and simple this was. I threw the shells in the oven and then started my eggs. I opted to use water in place of the milk, because it makes fluffier eggs and the weep less. I didn't have any ham to dice however; I did have some thin deli sliced ham which I browned in the pan next to the eggs. I then placed a slice of ham down in the bottom of each shell before filling with the salsa egg mixture. I used a mixture of pepper jack and colby cheese on top of the egg. Will make this again however next time I think I'll switch out the ham for a little diced chicken and see how that works. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made and reviewed for the AUS/NZ Swap #53

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate June 13, 2011

Loved the flavor, and spiciness, and the extra crunchy bite was great too. Other than adding the cheese to the eggs, made recipe as posted, and made for a nice breakfast. Made for AUS/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker October 15, 2012

Nice change to the normal ham and eggs. This could be a breakfast on the go. I have always used soft tortillas, so this is a great twist with a crunch! Thank you. {Made and reviewed for NZ/AUS Recipe Swap #28, May '09}

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHILI SPICE May 19, 2009

I made this after being on call all night and it was great - just what I needed. Easy to prepare even if you are half asleep. Great flavor and a great breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser April 20, 2009

Crunchy, spicy, and a great way to start my day. Being from TX we always had breakfast tacos in a soft tortilla, so this recipe was intriguing. I totally forgot the ham but was perfect as is. I used an extra spicy salsa verde and pepper jack cheese. I really enjoyed the crunch factor with the creamy eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT January 04, 2009

Peter,This was an awesome breakfast! I subbed turkey breast for the ham,used the tomatoes and also added jalapenos...yum!! I had small white corn taco shells so it made 3 tacos. This si a keeper! Thanks so much for posting!! Made for 12 Days of Christmas recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl December 01, 2008

EXCELLENT & FUN!!! I added the cheese to the eggs in the pan to ensure it was melted. I think next time I'll add the tomatoes, too, so they will warm through & not fall off the top of the taco, lol. DD requested sauteed onions in the mix. VERY easy, VERY yummy & different & fun!! THANK YOU! Made for the 7/08 Aussie Swap. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo July 20, 2008

I selected this for the *RECIPE SWAP #8* in the Australian/New Zealand Cooking Forum. I was intrigued because I'm not sure I have ever had a crunchy breakfast taco. The breakfast tacos I am familiar with or either on a warmed corn or flour tortilla. This was quite good. I made Pico De Gallo for the taco sauce and used Canadian bacon in place of ham. One tip I have learned, if you put a small amount of cheese in the bottom of the shell before heating, it will provide a moisture barrier and keep the shell from breaking down and getting soft. After doubling the recipe for 2, it was learned that a doubled recipe will make 3 good size tacos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG September 02, 2007
Breakfast Tacos