Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / British Breakfast in Bed - Boiled Eggs and Marmite Soldiers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    British Breakfast in Bed - Boiled Eggs and Marmite Soldiers

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2014

      I made 4 eggs (at room temperature) and they were all cooked to perfection in the 4 minutes and the DM had 2 and I had 2 and we each had one slice of toast each and half had vegemite and half had marmite and the vote was 1 each as I preferred the vegemite but DM preferred the marmite but we both thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast, thank you French Tart, made for Make My Recipe tag game in the Aussie/Kiwi forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I adore this breakfast! My mom is from Northern Ireland and introduced Marmite to me at a very early age and I love it! I used rye toast with marmite to dip in the eggs. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I made this for breakfast this morning and loved it! The marmite with the eggs is so good! I didn't have egg cups, so just peeled and cut up the little soldiers and sopped up the egg. Delicious! Thanks! Made for the Virtual Cruise of Scotland!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      This is the stuff I grew up on! If you have a British significant other, serve them this in bed for breakfast. You won't believe the gratitude you'll be shown :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Perfect timing for a perfect soft boiled egg. Sorry I didn't use an egg cup and marmite is a taste you either love or No No - I am a No No. I have some on hand though because some friends LOVE it. Thanks FT for posting the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I love this! Grew up eating Marmite on toast from my British mother!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      I have never made soft boiled eggs before. It seems similar to my fav. way of having eggs with the yolk a little firmer, but mashed on top toast. I tried it both with room temp. eggs and eggs right out of the fridge. Neither cracked. I used homemade whole wheat bread and butter. The kids loved dipping the bread and scooping out the whites at the end. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

    • on March 17, 2008

      Great recipe. I'm an American who married an Englishman, so I had to learn to live with Marmite, and eventually, grew to love it. For all of us non-English/Australian's, the way to break Marmite in gently is to make sure that you butter the bread very generously and spread the Marmite very thinly, and a few slices of good strong cheese go a long way-or spread peanut butter over it. Marmite WILL become addicting if you know how to use it. Thanks for the egg instructions~I can cook about anything but a decent egg~until now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      A wonderful breakfast. Quick, easy and satisfying with a good cup of tea or coffee. I eat this at least evey other week. I have a small addiction to marmite :-) Very good with any type of bread I like white, whole wheat and especially rye.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for British Breakfast in Bed - Boiled Eggs and Marmite Soldiers

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.8
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    34%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 327.3 mg
    109%
    Sodium 380.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites