19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These biscuits were easy to make. We enjoyed them with our meal. They were tender and flakey but needed more salt. We also found them just a little dry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tolu Girl February 05, 2009

I have made these biscuits more than three times and they are good. I prefer shortening over the butter recipes. Soft, tender, and fluffy if you ask me. Best with buttermilk, but also good with plain milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingVee December 18, 2011

These were okay. My first batch stayed almost flat so I made another batch just to make sure I did everything right and they did get a little bigger but still stayed much flatter than the picture. They did have a great taste though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NURSNMOM October 27, 2008

These are the best biscuits I have ever made. I have tried several recipes on this website and finally found the right one. Some of the other recipes were too salty. These biscuits came out fluffy and flaky. The flavor was exactly what a biscuit should be. My BF said that these were the best biscuits I have ever made. Great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 October 01, 2008

These were ok, not the flakiest I thought they were going to be. I handled the least amount possible, though I did cut the shortening in with quick pulses in the food processor. I think that cold shortening would have worked better. Still on the hunt for my HG of biscuits!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michawnpita June 16, 2008

WOW! These were so easy, flaky and just mouth watering biscuits! I didn't have buttermilk on hand so instead, I used a little secret of mine (1 cup of milk minus about a Tbls, add 1 Tbls of lemon juice, stir and let sit a few mins...and you have home made buttermilk) I also used butter-flavored crisco because I was out of regular. Thank you so much for a keeper in my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanna =^..^= May 29, 2008

I made these on 4/6/08 as part of mine and SO's dinner.Even if the recipe doesn't call for sifting, I double sift all the dry ingredients so the biscuits rise even higher.I did however have to add about 1/3 cup of flour after adding the milk,since it was very wet and wouldn't hold shape.These were baked at 450º for about 15 minutes to give them more of a golden top.And the taste was light and fluffy ,just like a good biscuit should be.This will be made again.Thanks for posting,and "Keep Smiling :)"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � April 07, 2008

These biscuits were wonderful and easy to make. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened March 24, 2008

I can't believe I forgot to review this recipe! Very nice and fluffy. I had some with soup and some with strawberry jam and cold milk. Yumm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V'nut-Beyond Redemption June 16, 2007

Perfect biscuits! My DIL (an absolute novice baker) made these for Christmas morning breakfast (also her introduction to an array of kitchen tools & gadgets ;-) A convection baking time of 10 minutes @ 375º made for flaky, light biscuits with slightly crisp bottoms. She was so proud! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie December 25, 2006
Buttermilk Biscuits