Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Buttermilk Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2009

      These biscuits were easy to make. We enjoyed them with our meal. They were tender and flakey but needed more salt. We also found them just a little dry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      I have made these biscuits more than three times and they are good. I prefer shortening over the butter recipes. Soft, tender, and fluffy if you ask me. Best with buttermilk, but also good with plain milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      These were okay. My first batch stayed almost flat so I made another batch just to make sure I did everything right and they did get a little bigger but still stayed much flatter than the picture. They did have a great taste though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      These are the best biscuits I have ever made. I have tried several recipes on this website and finally found the right one. Some of the other recipes were too salty. These biscuits came out fluffy and flaky. The flavor was exactly what a biscuit should be. My BF said that these were the best biscuits I have ever made. Great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      These were ok, not the flakiest I thought they were going to be. I handled the least amount possible, though I did cut the shortening in with quick pulses in the food processor. I think that cold shortening would have worked better. Still on the hunt for my HG of biscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      WOW! These were so easy, flaky and just mouth watering biscuits! I didn't have buttermilk on hand so instead, I used a little secret of mine (1 cup of milk minus about a Tbls, add 1 Tbls of lemon juice, stir and let sit a few mins...and you have home made buttermilk) I also used butter-flavored crisco because I was out of regular. Thank you so much for a keeper in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      I made these on 4/6/08 as part of mine and SO's dinner.Even if the recipe doesn't call for sifting, I double sift all the dry ingredients so the biscuits rise even higher.I did however have to add about 1/3 cup of flour after adding the milk,since it was very wet and wouldn't hold shape.These were baked at 450º for about 15 minutes to give them more of a golden top.And the taste was light and fluffy ,just like a good biscuit should be.This will be made again.Thanks for posting,and "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      These biscuits were wonderful and easy to make. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      I can't believe I forgot to review this recipe! Very nice and fluffy. I had some with soup and some with strawberry jam and cold milk. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Perfect biscuits! My DIL (an absolute novice baker) made these for Christmas morning breakfast (also her introduction to an array of kitchen tools & gadgets ;-) A convection baking time of 10 minutes @ 375º made for flaky, light biscuits with slightly crisp bottoms. She was so proud! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Tender and flaky with just a hint of sweetness. I ran out of white flour and had to use part whole wheat and these were still light as could be. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      Wonderful taste. Flaky. I made them first and they did not rise very well. I don't think I mixed the dough enough. DH made them, turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      I don't get how so many biscuit recipes call for 450 degrees, my oven runs very hot so I dropped it to 350, also used butter instead of shortening, but OMG, these were so good. They came out PERFECT. I will keep this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      This was an easy and delicious recipe. The biscuits were very light. I brushed my biscuits with melted butter when I removed them from the oven. So yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      i usesd a heaping T. of sugar the second time i made them and i liked that a little better. this is the easiest i have found, and my whold family loved them. i made them 3 times in 2 weeks. now my friends all want the recp. and my 3 year old loves to help make them. thanks for the great recp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      I rating this 5-stars for great flavor and texture. My biscuits didn't raise very high, but I'm going to chalk that one up to inexperience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      These turned out PERFECT! Although I just scooped them in pan (bypassed all the flour ending and molding), they still tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      This is very similar to the popular KFC clone recipe. They turned out great, I didn't have enough Crisco so used 1/2 butter 1/2 Criso. Made really yummy breakfast biscuit sandwiches with them using sausage, cheddar, red onion, egg, and tomato as a filler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      I made these last night for dinner. Let's just say, these are way better than a certain restaurant's biscuits! YUMMY! I'll never use Bisquick again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Buttermilk Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.9
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    48%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 314.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites