Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Cantaloupe Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cantaloupe Bread

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2010

      I was so curious about this bread so I decided to just make half the recipe.I added some raisins and used applesauce for half the oil.It did turn out very moist.My husband and my mom really liked it.. she thought it tasted a little like pumpkin bread.I thought it was just ok but it was fun to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      I liked this! I was skeptical making it but liked the idea of having another way to eat cantaloupe. I tried it toasted with butter and it was good. The walnuts and spices add a lot. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This was delightful! I halved the recipe and used applesauce in place of the oil. I guess that just sneaks in a little more fruit anyway. My two year old gobbled this stuff right up! Thank you for such an interesting way to use up some cantaloupe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Tastes yummy - DH couldn't figure out the secret ingredient. I love it when I stump the family on ingredients! Mine wasn't super-moist and I baked it for 50 minutes, so I recommend checking even earlier.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I skipped the nuts and the bread turned out a bit too moist. I'm wondering if it would've been better to get some of the moisture out of the cantaloupe (mine was pretty ripe) before adding it in. Still, even though they are a bit too moist (and by that I mean didn't keep their "loaf" form), they are so yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Very moist with just enough cantaloupe flavor. We aren't huge fans of cantaloupe but this was good for us. Thanks:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      This was a wonderful addition to the recipe box. I used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and 1 cup sugar and 1 cp Splenda to make it a little healthier. USE THE NUTS... it breaks the recipe if you don't. It makes great muffins for lunchboxes. Thanks a ton for a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      After 2 attempts at making this (but do to my inability to read, failing...XD) I finally made this correctly on the third time. It was quite good. Very moist and mildly flavored. My husband said it reminded him of carrot cake. I only needed about half a cantaloupe for 2 cups of puree, though, so I'll probably end up making another batch with the other half I have left and try freezing them. I made it without the nuts, so I'll try it with the nuts next time. Thanks for the unique recipe!^_^

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! I omited the walnuts just because I didnt have any on hand. This is a great idea for the surplus canteloupe puree I have on hand. My garden produced way to much. I'm happy now that I have a use for it. This will be nice in mini loaves for my christmas baskets this year. Thank you for sharing your wondeful recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This is such a unique idea for me, I had to make it. Very moist. My friends just ate it up! Some said it was like a carrot cake, others said it reminded them of pumpkin bread. Either way, it was delicious. I just loved seeing their faces when I said "cantaloupe". Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Holy Smokes! This bread is delicious!! I just pulled it out of the oven and couldn't resist trying a slice! My husband will love this! I had a cantaloupe that I wasn't sure what to do with, so was looking for something different. We love quick breads and I'm tired of banana bread. Was leary of making the whole recipe since it made so much, but now I'm glad I did! Will throw one in the freezer for later. Used applesauce in place of most of the oil and used pecans in one loaf. Simply amazing. BTW, can't really tell it's cantaloupe, at least not while it's hot! Yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      I have given this recipe out twice already. Even cantaloupe haters like this. I made it as written, except for the nuts. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      This was so delicious, but I made some changes to make it healthier. I used: 1 egg + 2 egg whites, 1/2 the oil, 1/2 the sugar, 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour. I used 1 teaspoon baking powder by accident, but I think it was perfect. I made muffins and it made 30 of them. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      Very lovely bread. I made it for my son and he couldn't figure out what the fruit was. I served it warm with cream cheese. I also left out the walnits because I don't like them. I also didn't have any ginger, next time I'll add the ginger. This was very good. I highly recommend.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Oh my, this is delicious! I made muffins and I am regretting not doubling the batch! Two cups of puree was just under 3/4 of my canteloupe. Instead of a blender, I put melon chunks into a large glass measuring cup and mashed with a potato masher until I got to two cups. I can't even tell that there are any "chunks" in my bread, so I guess it worked. The muffins took about 33 minutes until done. They still looked a bit shiny on the top, but a toothpick came out clean and they were done perfectly (the edges had also just barely begun to crisp up). This reminds me a bit of pumpkin bread but super moist. I am so glad I made this bread! Now if only I could stop eating it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      I was thrilled to find a great way to use up a little past its prime cantaloupe. I took it to a family get together and everyone liked it. Thank you for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      Definitely excellent. Not the original Japanese recipe I was looking for, but extremely tasty overall. All my friends loved it, especially spread with butter or cream cheese! Thanks a ton!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      WOW! Definately a keeper! Me husband came home with 2 huge cantaloupes and I had to use one of them quick. The bread is moist and delicious! The only thing I changed, I added a little fresh squeezed lemon juice to it and I didn't use nuts. Thank you so much for this awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      Pretty good bread. I made it into muffins and it made almost 3 dozen. Maybe I'll be brave and try doubling the spices and see if it enhances the taste a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      Very good very sweet bread, I made it exactly as written but without the walnuts (I didn't have any). I had a very large cantaloupe and used only the sweetest flesh and still had half a melon left, I could taste the melon slightly but my friends could not, one even said it tasted like banana bread, ha ha. I didn't have a problem slicing it warm but I sliced it pretty thick with a serrated bread knife, over 1/2 inch, it held together fine. I made a peanut butter sanwich with it this morning and it was very tasty. Love the crust, A definate keeper. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cantaloupe Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 30

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.0
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    46%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 18.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 139.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 14.9 g
    59%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites