23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are great! And an easy way to eat "breakfast on the run." I added an extra strip of bacon and a small amount of sauteed onions. And based on some reviewers' comments, I only used half the amount of mushrooms. The muffins turned out a little dry, but I'm rating them 5 stars because I didn't follow the recipe and add the full amount of mushrooms -- they would have been much moister if I had. I made two batches of these -- one for today and one for the freezer. Thanks, Pat, for posting this terrific recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester February 16, 2009

Definitely a 5 star! Made these with more bacon and froze leftovers to take camping with us. Thank you I'mPat for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal September 22, 2010

Interesting recipe! I made this for a friend of mine, and was told they're great! I doubled the bacon per the previous reviewer's suggestion, but otherwise made as indicated. Thanks, Pat! Made for Top Favourites of 2009 Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen February 16, 2010

Freaking awesome! I've eaten my second already! I mixed up the ingredients a little after reading other reviews. I added 6 slices bacon instead of 3 and halved the mushrooms (though I love that the flavour still came through a lot). Because my family are a bunch of cheese lovers I think I doubled that too. Even though I'm Canadian I was lost at 80gms of butter (too used to American recipes I guess lol), but I guessed it to be about 1/2 cup and it turned out so I guess I was at least close! I used green onions instead of chives cause my garden ate my chives this year. I also made a mini muffin batch (baked about 14 mins). Love these! I'll be making them lots and I bet if I can keep my paws off them they'll freeze great for quick breakfasts too! EDIT: I threw some of these in the freezer and they re-heated great! My daughter and I had a great breakfast that was super quick to make! Just a couple mins in the nuker! Thanks for another OAMC recipe. I'm making a quad batch now!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 October 07, 2008

Doubled the bacon, used green onions, and previously sliced mushrooms. Cooked mushrooms (half of the amount) in bacon grease along with bacon. Kept everything pretty chunky because I like to chew my muffin. Worked out great, so I'm bringing them to work tomorrow to share. I know they'll be gone... I'm already on my second one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tharonw March 10, 2013

Wow Delicious! I used Pepper Jack cheese and doubled the bacon. Made the muffins have a little kick. These muffins were awesome! Thanks so much ; )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut March 28, 2009

We enjoyed these for breakfast this morning. The mushroom flavor really dominated these. I'll add more bacon next time. Used only the meat portion of the bacon. Omitted the oil all together. Loved the flavor the chives gave this. We used a sharp cheddar cheese. Texture was perfect. thanks. Made for SSC Pet Parade.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 12, 2008

these are awesome! Helpful hint if you are in North America you will need to used about 3/4 cup of Back Bacon rind removed or 3 thin slices of ham - fried. Australian bacon is meaty NOT fatty at all like North American bacon. This is why oil is added and you are experiencing mushroom muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadainAuss October 21, 2014

I thought these were pretty good. However, they were a complete failure with the family. I ended up throwing half of them away. Perhaps my family just doesn't like a savoy muffin. Oh well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
extreme_sitting June 07, 2013

I made a half recipe for 6 muffins. I noticed in the reviews that many folks doubled the bacon but couldn't bring myself to do that since they are already 55% fat (even though DH would have been liking it). Used all egg whites instead of whole eggs and skim milk and had excellent results. Simply delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 25, 2013
Cheese & Bacon Breakfast Muffins