Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Cheese & Bacon Breakfast Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese & Bacon Breakfast Muffins

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2009

      These are great! And an easy way to eat "breakfast on the run." I added an extra strip of bacon and a small amount of sauteed onions. And based on some reviewers' comments, I only used half the amount of mushrooms. The muffins turned out a little dry, but I'm rating them 5 stars because I didn't follow the recipe and add the full amount of mushrooms -- they would have been much moister if I had. I made two batches of these -- one for today and one for the freezer. Thanks, Pat, for posting this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Definitely a 5 star! Made these with more bacon and froze leftovers to take camping with us. Thank you I'mPat for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Interesting recipe! I made this for a friend of mine, and was told they're great! I doubled the bacon per the previous reviewer's suggestion, but otherwise made as indicated. Thanks, Pat! Made for Top Favourites of 2009 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Freaking awesome! I've eaten my second already! I mixed up the ingredients a little after reading other reviews. I added 6 slices bacon instead of 3 and halved the mushrooms (though I love that the flavour still came through a lot). Because my family are a bunch of cheese lovers I think I doubled that too. Even though I'm Canadian I was lost at 80gms of butter (too used to American recipes I guess lol), but I guessed it to be about 1/2 cup and it turned out so I guess I was at least close! I used green onions instead of chives cause my garden ate my chives this year. I also made a mini muffin batch (baked about 14 mins). Love these! I'll be making them lots and I bet if I can keep my paws off them they'll freeze great for quick breakfasts too! EDIT: I threw some of these in the freezer and they re-heated great! My daughter and I had a great breakfast that was super quick to make! Just a couple mins in the nuker! Thanks for another OAMC recipe. I'm making a quad batch now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Doubled the bacon, used green onions, and previously sliced mushrooms. Cooked mushrooms (half of the amount) in bacon grease along with bacon. Kept everything pretty chunky because I like to chew my muffin. Worked out great, so I'm bringing them to work tomorrow to share. I know they'll be gone... I'm already on my second one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Wow Delicious! I used Pepper Jack cheese and doubled the bacon. Made the muffins have a little kick. These muffins were awesome! Thanks so much ; )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      We enjoyed these for breakfast this morning. The mushroom flavor really dominated these. I'll add more bacon next time. Used only the meat portion of the bacon. Omitted the oil all together. Loved the flavor the chives gave this. We used a sharp cheddar cheese. Texture was perfect. thanks. Made for SSC Pet Parade.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      I thought these were pretty good. However, they were a complete failure with the family. I ended up throwing half of them away. Perhaps my family just doesn't like a savoy muffin. Oh well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      I made a half recipe for 6 muffins. I noticed in the reviews that many folks doubled the bacon but couldn't bring myself to do that since they are already 55% fat (even though DH would have been liking it). Used all egg whites instead of whole eggs and skim milk and had excellent results. Simply delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      I agree with other reviewers, the predominant flavor in these muffins is mushroom. That's not a bad thing, I was just expecting more of a bacon flavor. I did double the bacon as others suggested. Next time I will slice up some green onions and saute those with the mushrooms instead of using the milder tasting chive. These are very filling....one muffin was plenty for me for breakfast. I plan on freezing the others for a quick breakfast before work. Thanks for sharing! Made for Market tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Great texture and pretty good flavor. Maybe throw another 1/2 of cheese and a bit more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      easy recipe, came together well, Used Mersey Valley cheese, and about 300gr mushrooms.
      very tasty . will definately make these again! thanks Pat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      These were awsome. Reminds me of a johnny cake only without cornmeal. Love the flavors together. Made as directed but used about 1/4 cup of real bacon pieces and omitted the cooking the bacon step.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      Double the bacon, but don't half the mushrooms, leave those as they are. Very nice and moist muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      These are great straight out of the oven. I think the other reviews are right, double the bacon! Then again for me I could quadruple it and still not have enough :) Thanks Pat! Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      These are good!! I left out the mushrooms and used sharp cheddar sheese. Like most, I doubled the bacon. They are a great thing to have for my DH to throw in his lunch and take to work...beats him having cookies and milk for breakfast!! Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Made these last night to freeze for DH. I used 6 rashers, 300g mushrooms and subbed 3 tablespoons of the flour for wheatgerm. Also added a dash of paprika and more chives. These muffins were tasty, however next time I would add more cheese as per the last reviewer. A quick and easy breakfast standby. Made for Recipe swap #22

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      We thoroughly enjoyed these for this morning's breakast. I used sliced mushrooms as that's what I had on hand and grated tasty cheese. I only ever use the meat part of the bacon, but cooked the full rasher, then removed the fat (that goes into my cat's dinner bowl tonight). I love bacon but don't eat it often, so wanted the extra flavour that cooking the mushrooms in the bacon fat brings. Well that's my rationale! My only addition was half a finely chopped onion which I sauteed for about a minute before adding the mushroom slices to the pan. The muffins we didn't eat this morning, we'll reheat before eating. Of course they could be eaten at room temperature, but they are just SO delicious warm: a super recipe, Pat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      I'm rating with no stars because I followed some other reviewers suggestions. I used six slices of bacon. Also, being the good southern girl that I am used some of the left over bacon grease instead of olive oil. These really turned out well. Nice savory muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      These were a nice little savory muffin. I think they would be better with more bacon and less mushrooms. Loved the chives and maybe would increase the amount of those too. We served these with over easy eggs. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese & Bacon Breakfast Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.2
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    55%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 54.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 314.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites