12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this with 4 very thick slices of a nutty, whole grain bread & sliced a pocket in the middle of each slice ~ Other than that, I pretty much followed the recipe (well, I DID substitute some great fresh blueberries for the listed berries) & we had AN ABSOLUTELY GREAT FRENCH TOAST BREAKFAST! I'm definitely looking forward to making this again with other fresh berries, including the strawberries when I can get them fresh & locally grown, the best-tasting kind! Thanks for sharing a great recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike February 06, 2010

Wonderful! I stirred in a teaspoon or two of strawberry preserves in with the cream cheese. I only used 2 eggs and 1/4-1/2 cup milk and this was plenty for four servings. I took diner's advice and used frozen strawberries. Delicious! Thank you for the recipe. Made for Every Day is a Holiday tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms October 18, 2009

I made this for two and added 1 t. of sugar to the cream cheese. Other than my bread falling apart as I tried to make a pocket rather than two slices of bread, this is a great breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 22, 2011

Congrats! Your delicious-looking French Toast -- and Baby Kato's great photo of it -- are featured as today's Recipe of the Day on the Food.com homepage! :) (5/19/2011)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food.com May 19, 2011

Phenomenal, reminds me of something from IHOP, I will definitely be making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny March 28, 2009

What's not to love about this! It's easy, tasty and can be adjusted to your liking. I followed this recipe exactly with wonderful results. While I was getting the chocolate chips out, I saw my Nutella and thnk I will use that on the inside next time(like tomorrow morning!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean February 27, 2009

Great - a really nice way to dress up french toast! It also is a great inspiration for trying out different variations on the center ingredients - I'm thinking of adding some sliced banana next time! I used low fat cream cheese, semi-sweet chocolate, and whole wheat bread. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 22, 2009

A real nice simple, delicious breakfast. Made recipe as posted and will not change a thing . A great way to start the morning. Made for Market tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker January 10, 2009

Two of us enjoyed this decadently delicious breakfast delight! Because it sounded rather too sweet for our taste, I used raspberries which are more tart in flavour and which we also prefer in place of the strawberries. I also used chopped dark chocolate (from Aldi's) rather than chocolate chips, which I rarely buy. Thankyou for posting this easy and scrumptious recipe, diner! Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder January 05, 2009

What a delicious breakfast treat. We enjoyed this pretty dish very much. The strawberries, cream cheese and chocolate chips make this taste like dessert... whats not to like. It was rich, creamy, sweet and smooth. Thanks for sharing this recipe, which I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato December 17, 2008
Chocolate and Strawberry Stuffed French Toast