Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chocolate Chip Scones

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2012

      I have made these three times now! I can't get enough! These have a lighter texture than many scones, but they are still very good. I used about a half a cup of buttermilk because my mixture seems a bit hard to mix with just 1/3c. I also like to add a little vanilla extract. Some have commented about the difficulty of shaping them....I used an ice cream scoop and they turned out nice and round. Wonderful recipe! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      It was good but very hard to mix even with the electric mixer, it was so thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This is a great scone recipe! These are great that they are moister than most scone recipes. I made half the recipe and received 6 large scones. I can see using different flavors of chips with these too - like cinnamon chips to give them a real twist. We enjoyed them immensely!! Thanks for sharing this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      This was so easy and delicious! I love just about anything with chocolate chips and this was no exception. I love loads of chocolate chips, so I'd probably add a bit more just for my taste, but I'm not holding my exceptional love of chocolate chips against this recipe. Made for ZWT6: Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Wonderful sweet scones!!! I made 1/4 of the recipe and using a 1/4 cup, it made 4 perfect sized scones. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Very good! Moist texture and lots of chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I thought these were quite nice. I used mint chocolate chips. I think I'll try them again with cinnamon chips. I thought they were more scone like than biscuit and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

    • on June 19, 2008

      This is an amazing scone recipe, with a nice light and biscuity texture and just enough sugar. I love the buttermilk in it. I make it all the time and everyone I make it for loves it. I always use Ghirardelli semisweet chips. Cut the butter in half though -- one stick is enough and it still comes out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed these yet! They are soooo incredibly simple to put together and soooo amazing hot out of the oven with a cup of coffee! I tried forming them into triangles but then they puffed up and it didn't matter. I've baked them right from the freezer - such a nice feature for having company!... make the batter several days in advance then just pop them in the oven when you need them! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Made these about a week ago because work demanded scones ^_^ For flavor, they rated it five stars, and they would have gone higher if possible. Everybody seemed to like the fluffy chocolately flavor of it. For construction, though, I rate it about three stars, because the dough turned out incredibly sticky and hard to handle. I ended up having to spoon the dough into individual foil cups so it would have some sort of uniform shape. The other thing I found odd is that unlike most scones, this calls for room temperature butter. All the scone recipes I've tried have called for extremely cold butter so that it melts in the oven and not in the bowl. And even though it calls to be refrigerated, I still didn't get the "scone" flavor I was craving. Next time I may modify it a smidge to fit my flavor, but overall, it definitely is tasty. Thanks fora great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Not bad! I just made these, and they're light and fluffy, not rock-hard like some scones. I realized there was nothing in the recipe about what to do with the extra 2 Tbs. of sugar, so I guessed that they were for sprinkling on the scones before putting them in the oven. Next time I may try adding some orange extract or vanilla extract for a little extra flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      AWESOME!! I made these for my husband for breakfast on his birthday!! They were a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This is the best scone recipe I have tried in quite a while. They taste wonderful hot from the oven. There is no need to add butter or jams to this babies, they are perfect as is. My kids loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      These were very easy to make with good results. I did add a little buttermilk as the dough was very stiff and I was having trouble incorporating all of the flour. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. I used 3/4 cup sugar because I like sweet but they still weren't sweet enough for me...other people who like nonsweet treats enjoyed them. I think I must not be a scone person. They reminded me of mexican bread. I used mini chocolate chips. I used my 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop them out and ended up with 11 good sized scones. I baked them an extra 5 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      I think this recipe has hooked me on scones. I really enjoyed these and they were pretty easy to make. I used the mini chocolate chips and they worked out just fine. They turned out really moist and fluffy. This is something I will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I started making scones after joining RZ & DH loves them! These scones are a tasty quick-fix w/just the right texture. The recipe esp appealed to me because I could make them ahead, pop them in the oven frozen as needed & enjoy them w/coffee & my DH in the morning b4 he leaves for work - a ritual I have only lately been able to manage. I did brush them w/an egg wash using my pastry brush as my convection oven seems to cook hot & fast. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. I expect to rely on it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      So yummy and easy. Absolutely wonderful scones. I added a tbsp of special dark Dutch cocoa to the batter and replaced 2 tbsp sugar with Splenda. I used the lesser amount of chocolate chips (mixture of bittersweet chips and semi-sweet minis). I dropped them by 1/4 cupfuls which turmed out to be the perfect size for us. I just refrigerated overnight and popped them in the oven first thing in the morning. Baked up perfectly, crispy outside and fluffy and moist inside. Thanks for sharing. It's a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I don't feel that I can review this recipe properly as I took many liberties with it, so I'm not going to assign stars to it. I made then into Chocolate Chocolate Mint Chip Scones and also lowered the fat. I added 3 TBSP of Dutch cocoa, replaced half of the butter with applesauce, used 1 egg and 1/2 a cup of Eggbeaters and all of the sugar became Splenda, finally I used mint chocolate chips. What I can tell you is that I got some yummy, much more diabetic friendly scones that baked up well and are fluffy in texture and are a real treat to munch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      Very light and fluffy - but most importantly delicious! I used regular chocolate chips which gave the scones a more "chocolate chunk" type of taste. Next time I would probably scoop them by less than 1/3 a cup and make them a bit smaller so that there are more, and they aren't as substantial a snack. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chocolate Chip Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 11

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 358.2
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    52%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 95.3 mg
    31%
    Sodium 130.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites