Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Creamed Chipped Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Chipped Beef

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      You've done it now. I am now the best "Creamed Chipped Beef" maker on "The Longmeadow Farm". So, thank goodness I have now memorized this recipe. And what a recipe it 'tis. Very smooth and oh so good, even to the very last drop. I followed this exactly, and enjoyed putting the sherry in.... I have used that in the sauce, however, this is the little tang that has been missing from my previously made "gravy" for chipped beef. This deserves 10 stars..will be making this from now on. I also rinsed my chipped beef prior to putting in the gravy, and it really helped cut back on the salt taste. Thanks, Bliss! Made for the heck of it, April 2010

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Sooo good that dried beef is now in our California earthquake kit! I used smoked paprika. This is very salty and we like it that way. You can soak the chopped up beef in hot water for a few minutes and then drain it if you need/want it to be less salty. Leap into adventure and use the dry sherry. It is fabulous and you can use the rest in Chinese food. The only drawback is the dog, who falls over and acts like he will expire if he can't lick the plate. Thanks, Bliss!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Made this for a family brunch and it was a Big Hit! My Bro-in Law eats as a hobby and called it "hands down, the best he ever had." The whole clan liked the added kick compared to more traditional recipes. Easy to adjust spice level to match taste buds. This will be THE only creamed chipped beef recipe I use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Best, most flavorful creamed chipped beef I have ever made or eaten! I used chardonnay in place of sherry. Delicious! Doubled the recipe, except the onions. Phenomenal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      I had been craving this for some time but did not have the dried beef on hand. I couldn't take it any longer. Forged ahead and made it with deli corned beef, used a tblsp of white wine (no sherry). This stuff is creamy and has the sparks that makes it not your ordinary SOS. Made it again and added a little corn and peas just for fun. Again, wow I liked it! Thanks for sharing will make a special effort to try with the chipped beef for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Fantastic! Used sliced, smoked cured beef (a treat in itself). It isn't quite as salty as chipped beef, so we did add salt and pepper at the dinner table. Used cream sherry (didn't have dry) and served over biscuits (got them in frozen food section in a "peel off plastic top container.) Perfect with your recipe! Thanks, Bliss, for posting! I cannot wait to serve your wonderful recipe to company.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I loved this as a kid and have been thinking about it recently. Instead of using my Mom's recipe -- just white sauce with the chipped beef tossed in, I tried this and it is ever so much bettr. I did rinse the beef to cut the salt. Great little old fashioned dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      Excellent! The Tobasco Sauce added that extra zing to keep our tastebuds craving more. Thanks for the wonderful recipe - this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      My husband recently mentioned a childhood (and military mess hall) memory of creamed chipped beef on toast, and asked me to find a recipe for it. I made this today, cutting in half, but otherwise following the recipe exactly, and he said it was much better than he's ever had, and asked me to save the recipe. That certainly rates a high five in my book. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2004

      This was awsomely delicious. I searved it over biscuts. My husband and children loved it. The sherry was an excellent touch. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Chipped Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 562.7
     
    Calories from Fat 257
    45%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 169.6 mg
    56%
    Sodium 3444.8 mg
    143%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 44.9 g
    89%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes