18 Reviews

I grew up eating this dish as well. I am the only one left who eats it , so it is now a dish I only eat on Easter morning. The only thing I do differently is I keep the yolks seperate ,crumble them in a bowl ,and cover the entire top with a dry yolk mixture. Awesome readers should try this dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
e.mogey June 10, 2012

Very yummy!!! But we also Added Velveta Cheese and bacon bits!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shyflutterby March 17, 2011

My, oh my! This was a walk down memory lane. In all honesty, I had forgotten about this dish for probably 40 years. I did it for a quick, easy dinner tonight, and was everything I remember my mom cooking decades ago. This will remain on both my breakfast and dinner menues. Thanks so much for posting. I really don't think I would have ever encountered nor thoughht about a childhood fave had I not run acoss this today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP December 08, 2010

Very good. I love this dish. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ND_Dawn December 07, 2010

I haven't had creamed eggs in years, was looking for some way to use up some hard boiled egss, voila, creamed eggs! Made this for breakfast a few days ago, a simple, yet delicious meal. The only thing I changed, I added a bit of dijon, it was wonderful. Brought back memories of childhood.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang February 17, 2010

This was great!! Just like mom used to make when I was a kid. In my humble opinion I think it could use one less tablespoon of butter, it was a little rich for me. I also did not add any salt, mom never did either. But the memories flooded back with the first bite. I will be eating these again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MCStineCO February 04, 2010

I first learned to make this recipe in 9th grade home ec. cooking class. Like some of the other reviewers, we also put the diced whites in the sauce and crumbled the yolks on top. We called it eggs golden rod. Brings back great memories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shopgirl March 26, 2008

We just made this today with our leftover eggs from Easter. My mom made it for us for special breakfasts or lunches. We call it "Golden Rod Egg" and sprinkle the egg yolks on top of the white mixture. It brings back good memories every time I made it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer March 26, 2008

This is one of those stupid-easy dishes that sometimes get overlooked. So comforting and warming both to body and soul. Thank you for posting and reminding me of basic good eats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 March 15, 2008

My Grandma use to make this for me when I was a kid. I had forgotten about it until I saw your recipe. It wasn't quite as I remembered it being though. I think Grandma may have used half canned milk & half regular milk.I will try that next time & let you know how it turns out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh November 10, 2007
Creamed Eggs on Toast