Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Eggs on Toast

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2012

      I grew up eating this dish as well. I am the only one left who eats it , so it is now a dish I only eat on Easter morning. The only thing I do differently is I keep the yolks seperate ,crumble them in a bowl ,and cover the entire top with a dry yolk mixture. Awesome readers should try this dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      Very yummy!!! But we also Added Velveta Cheese and bacon bits!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      My, oh my! This was a walk down memory lane. In all honesty, I had forgotten about this dish for probably 40 years. I did it for a quick, easy dinner tonight, and was everything I remember my mom cooking decades ago. This will remain on both my breakfast and dinner menues. Thanks so much for posting. I really don't think I would have ever encountered nor thoughht about a childhood fave had I not run acoss this today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      Very good. I love this dish. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I haven't had creamed eggs in years, was looking for some way to use up some hard boiled egss, voila, creamed eggs! Made this for breakfast a few days ago, a simple, yet delicious meal. The only thing I changed, I added a bit of dijon, it was wonderful. Brought back memories of childhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This was great!! Just like mom used to make when I was a kid. In my humble opinion I think it could use one less tablespoon of butter, it was a little rich for me. I also did not add any salt, mom never did either. But the memories flooded back with the first bite. I will be eating these again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      I first learned to make this recipe in 9th grade home ec. cooking class. Like some of the other reviewers, we also put the diced whites in the sauce and crumbled the yolks on top. We called it eggs golden rod. Brings back great memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      We just made this today with our leftover eggs from Easter. My mom made it for us for special breakfasts or lunches. We call it "Golden Rod Egg" and sprinkle the egg yolks on top of the white mixture. It brings back good memories every time I made it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This is one of those stupid-easy dishes that sometimes get overlooked. So comforting and warming both to body and soul. Thank you for posting and reminding me of basic good eats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      My Grandma use to make this for me when I was a kid. I had forgotten about it until I saw your recipe. It wasn't quite as I remembered it being though. I think Grandma may have used half canned milk & half regular milk.I will try that next time & let you know how it turns out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      This was a family favorite in my house growing up too. This is exactly how I make it now. It is so good! I like to use Lawry's salt on top to give it a bit of color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      SOOO EASY!!! My hubby loved this, but I got a bit decadent and used 1 cup evaporated milk and 1 cup regular milk...very rich and GOOD!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      Simple comfort food for cold mornings, easy lunches, or even lazy nights. I prepared it as a soothing meal for my funky tummy and was very happy with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      This was good! I think next time I would add an extra egg, as it just didn't seem "eggy" enough for our tastes. I also don't think I made the sauce thin enough, but that was my fault. It was a very good and different breakfast that I will try again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      This is lovely! DH and I shared a plateful for lunch. I made exactly as specified, but next time maybe add a spoonful of curry powder or garlic or parsley or tarragon or ... I can't believe I never had this before! Thanks for posting, Tammy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      Very good and simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      My sister, who is much older than me, used to make this for me when I was young but we called them goldenrod eggs. Instead of adding the whole chopped eggs into the white sauce, we chopped the boiled egg whites and added those to the sauce. We crumbled the yolks and sprinkled them on top. I know it sounds crazy, but to the white sauce, we always added a light sprinkle of garlic salt. This is such a comfort food for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      Thanks for the memories, I remember this dish and I will prepare it again. It is a good alternative to the usual breakfast fare

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Eggs on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 683.5
     
    Calories from Fat 423
    61%
    Total Fat 47.0 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 26.5 g
    132%
    Cholesterol 390.2 mg
    130%
    Sodium 1239.3 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes