9 Reviews

This recipe was fabulous! I made it for a brunch for five women and we ate the whole 9 X 13 pan! As one reviewer wrote, next time I will definitely make 2 pans as everyone loved this recipe. The only changes I made was I used shredded pepper jack cheese instead of swiss, and I sauteed onions, mushrooms and fresh asparagus and added into the egg mixture, then let it set overnight. It was beautiful and delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janrylee May 22, 2011

We ate this for our Christmas brunch, and it gave 6 greedy people six very generous serves. Even our fussy son who "doesn't eat smoked salmon, milk or cheese" gave it rave reviews. It's simple, and the smell of it cooking nearly drove us insane. It's light and moist to eat and will be made again. I would imagine it would halve really easily for a smaller brunch too. Our only change to an excellent recipe was to add more pepper and a couple of teaspoons of chopped fresh dill.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS December 24, 2004

Makes for GREAT presentation, TRUE!
LOVE simplicity, versatility too!
Used mini croissants as had one hand, thought they did look nice,
DH enjoyed it as asked for another slice :)
Thanks JustJan for suggesting how to use up ingredients I wanted to use,
Seems like you did fuss....your guests you WILL amuse!
THANKS!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder October 29, 2010

Very good and comforting! I would increase the amount of ham next time, I think. This made really good use of croissants, since it was great still next day, when I had it cold for lunch.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 02, 2007

We had this for breakfast on New Years Day and enjoyed it very much!! I halved the recipe and used ham, cooking time was approx 30 minutes. Thanks for a great breakfast recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us January 04, 2006

Fabulous! I served this Christmas morning to my family and everyone loved it! There was no leftovers. I used polish sausage (sliced) per hubby's request and green onions. Turned out great! Thank you for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Addielovesbaking December 26, 2005

Easy to make and thoroughly enjoyed by all. I thought by simply cutting and layering the croissants (rather than using pieces) would make it difficult to cut, but it wasn't at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AliciaGski June 03, 2011

I fixed this for Christmas brunch along with several other special dishes. This one was polished off almost instantly! I wish I had made two casseroles instead of just one. I did add extra ham and a bit more salmon just because I had it on hand as a leftover from bagels & lox the day before. I also used mini croissants, it seemed they'd fit better, and they did. I like that I can fool around with it a little. It was great. I'll be using it again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BJ in Central Florida January 20, 2011

This looks like a delicious recipe. Fun improvement on the standard breakfast casserole. To cut down on fat and sodium, I would replace the croissants with a loaf of plain french bread - treating the bottom half the same as the original recipe -perhaps cut the top in strips to make a lattice?, I would leave out half the egg yolks. Finally, I would not add salt (Already lots in the cheese and meat.) Will try this and use the smoked salmon (although plain, canned salmon would have less sodium) If you wanted, greens or steamed broccoli could be added with the egg mixture....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bamaranth December 21, 2010
Croissant & Salmon (or Ham) Breakfast Casserole