Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Crunchy Granola (Muesli) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crunchy Granola (Muesli)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2010

      WONDERFUL granola!!! I cut the oats to 3 cups so I could add lots of nuts ~ pecans, almonds, and macadamias. I used ground flax meal instead of wheat germ, pepitas instead of sunflower seeds, golden flax seeds instead of sesame, and I also added 1/4 cup chia seeds. I used organic coconut oil instead of butter, raw tupelo honey, almond milk and sea salt. I did add the cinnamon (1 teaspoon) and I was so very glad I did. This smelled heavenly while baking, and I stirred every 4 minutes as even 5 minutes was crisping some of the oats! I added dried organic blueberries once it came out of the oven. Was going to use dried banana chips, but DH has already eaten them, but will try those next time. I think I like this better than my own granola recipe LOL It's a wonderful recipe Peggy ~ so glad I chose it ! Made for ZWT 6 - GERMANY/BENELUX for the Queens of Quisine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      This is fantastic and so easy to customize. To lower the fat a bit I kept the butter the same and increased everything else except the honey. It came out great. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      HAHAHAAAAAA!!! I finally found IT, THE ultimate recipe, the one I have been looking for, the one I ate every morning for over 5 month, the one Thibault used to steal in a little container before he go back home, THE MUESLI. I'm glad I found it and I'm finally able to write a review about it, but I had to. Anyone who eats more than a box of it a week should write a review about it anyway. Thanks again Peggy for helping me and making me all these boxes. And congratulation for the very good idea of the cinnamon , I know what I'm talking about and it really makes a big difference. +it's very easy to make, the proof is that I didn't blow the kitchen up. (quiete an achievment to be honnest)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      I would add more cinnamon and reduce the amount of raisins, but overall it tastes great! I have eaten this for breakfast every day this week, and I'm making another batch right now for next week :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Peggy, this is such a yummy recipe! It is crunchy, sweet and full of flavour! Love it!
      I made half the recipe as it is just my sis and me and we devoured this! :)
      Following some other reviewers suggestion I used ground flax seeds in place of the wheat germ as thats what I had on hand and I really enjoyed the nuttyness this added to the granola.
      Instead of honey I used agave syrup and that turned out nice and sweet.
      The cinnamon was a great touch (I doubled the amount).
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us!
      Made and reviewed for Make My Recipe #12 November 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Yummy and healthy...you can't beat that. I used sesame sticks in place of the sesame seed. I also added dried cranberries, sunflower seeds and roasted peanuts. I did use the cinnamon and also used the full 1/2 cup of honey. Super simple to make and tastes great. Made for July 2010 Aus/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Yummy! Not too sweet with the lesser amount of honey that was nice with the Thompson raisins I used. I found ours got brown in 15 minutes like another reviewer so watch it carefully and stir it often. We are gluten free so I left out the wheat germ, I prefer granola without sesame seeds so I left them out. I wanted to use sunflower seeds but I just could not wait to make this until shopping so I went ahead without them but cut down a little on the butter and added two glugs of unrefined sunflower oil to give it that flavour and be healthier! Then I added almonds in almost double the amount in the sunflower seeds place. I added a lot more cinnamon like quite a few other reviewers. I used a good unpasteurised local cream honey. Lastly to be dairy free I used Almond Milk (Almond Drink Base) in a lesser amount because of the ingredient decrease and because I used additional oil. I used sea salt. I may make this again but I want to use sunflower seeds as well next time and I may increase the honey a tad. Thanks Leggy Peggy. Made for ZWT6 Germany/Benelux region for my team, The Ya Ya Cookerhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      i subbed natural peanut butter for the butter. and reduced sunflower seeds to about an 1/8th and subbed with also a 1/8th sliced almond. and 1-8th ground flax seed. forgot the raisins. I love. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This was very easy to make. Instead of 1/2 cup sunflower seeds I reduced it to 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds and added 1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds. Also, instead of sesame seeds I used whole flax seeds for omega-3's!. I also added more dried fruit than suggested because I love raisins. I used a full teaspoon if not more cinnamon as well. I will reiterate that it needs to be stirred often especially if you bake it for 30 minutes. The wheat germ made the muesli more powdery than I would've liked and it crisped very easily on the bottom of my pan. Otherwise very tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Love it! Eating it for dinner right now :) And the best part is that my picky toddler is eating it too!!!! I cut the recipe in half, subbed flax seeds for sesame seeds and then added some sliced almonds. For fruit, I used craisins and dried apricots. I also put in a TON of cinnamon, as that's how I like it. Mine was nearly over toasted at 15 minutes on 350, so please do watch it closely!!! Excellent granola. Made for MAKE MY RECIPE game of tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL GRANOLA, & definitely a keeper! This first time around I added a half cup each of both dark raisins & dried cranberries! Very, very good, but still, another time I want to try a variety of dried fruits! And let me tell you ~ I had a really great tasting breakfast when I simply poured some of my usual breakfast smoothie over the top of a bowl of this granola! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #20]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Very good granola recipe! I added 1 tsp. cinnamon (we love cinnamon), used 1/2 cup wildflower honey, and I used 1/2 millet instead of the sesame seeds. I also used dried apples, raisins and Craisins - and added more than 1/2 cup. I will be making this again - would love to try it with the vanilla as another reviewer suggested and also think it would be good with maple flavoring. Made for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap July 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Thanks! You saved my day! I didn't have Muesli for a recipe so I threw this together. It got excellent reviews! This recipe is versatile and easy. I'm looking forward to Muesli in the AM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      I made this and used it as a bit of a pantry cleanout oppurtunity. I also added some pepitas and ground flaxseed I had to use up. For dried fruit I used blueberries, paw paw & cranberries. This was a lovley brekky served with some vanilla yoghurt which both DD & I enjoyed. Thanks !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      Spot on! I added the optional cinnamon and used 1/4 cup of honey (this was the perfect amount of sweetness for our family) I went with 1/4 cup of sultana's and 1/4 cup of dried blueberries. This batch won't last long I'm sure, so the when I make the next batch I'll add some almonds and diced dried apricots. Yum..oh and it's nice served over fresh yogurt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      Great granola. I added more dried fruit (berry blend) and also added some vanilla extract in place of some of the milk and instead of cinnamon. Next time, I would omit the sesame seeds and add some chopped nuts instead (but that's just because I love nuts).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      This is a very easy and adaptable granola recipe. I added sliced almonds, but you could add anything you enjoy. Also, we like ours a bit more crunchy, so I baked mine for 30 minutes. I took a photo showing some baked 20 minutes, and some baked 30 minutes. This choice would be totally up to you and would depend on how dark/crunchy you like your granola. As the author noted, make sure to keep an eye on it and stir every 5 minutes, especially toward the end of the baking time when it browns quickly at the edges. I'm ready to enjoy it for breakfast now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crunchy Granola (Muesli)

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.0
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    51%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 15.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 128.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes