9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made my scone as one like a scone loaf or damper and then cut it in wedges. My glaze is very yellow as I was too heavy handed with the butter but of course tastes delicious. I used lemons from my tree. This really needs no butter or jam on it - I loved it, great to serve with tea. Made for Family Picks ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew July 02, 2010

Delicious, love the lemony flavor. Enjoyed by all. Thank You. Made for ZWT6 Family Picks. No-Nonsense Nibblers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 June 29, 2010

Great Recipe! Used some of my vanilla bean infused sugar in the dough and melted the butter and lemon juice in a small pan and soaked the leftover vanilla pods in it. I made the dough the night before and they turned out great, maybe needed an extra moment in the oven, I turned off the oven and whipped up the glaze before removing the scones. This was such and easy fast breakfast I might have to make up some scone dough for work day breakfasts. Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre June 20, 2010

These are one lovely piece of lemon heaven. I followed the recipe exactly (only used a scone pan so I didn't have to cut) and wouldn't change a thing. Nice biscuit like texture and the lemon glaze was just perfect. These are going to be a favorite in this house from now on. What a great send of for the Great Britan section of ZWT6 for this Mischief Maker, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 June 19, 2010

These were delicious! I will definitely be making them again. I followed the scones recipe to the best of my ability, and they came out with a very nice texture and flavor. I didn't want them to be very sweet, so instead of using the glaze I sprinkled them with lemon juice and a little sugar while they were cooling. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pandaran January 15, 2010

Best I've ever had. It also received high marks from family and friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
srfrchik November 03, 2009

I made these after reading it in Family Fun and decided to use 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream to lessen the calories. I don't know WHAT went wrong, but 2 cups of flour is NO WHERE near enough. The dough was almost like BATTER! Could the 1/2 & 1/2 be that much different than heavy cream? Anyway, the dough/batter TASTED wonderful. Next time I'll either use the correct type of milk OR add more flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itstime4t June 24, 2009

These taste really good, but I had to work with them a bit. I don't know if it is because I used 2% milk instead of heavy whipping cream, but I had to add about a cup of flour to get them to a proper consistancy. Then I discovered at glaze-making-time that I only had about 1/2 a cup of powdered sugar. sigh. They were quickly gobbled up by my guests! I'll have to try them again sometime with the cream. Thanks! Reviewed for the Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 September 26, 2008

I love scones, and this was one of the best scone recipes I have ever made. These scones turned out so light and delicate. You can definitely taste the lemon in this recipe. The glaze has a wonderful sweet/tart flavor. This one is going straight into my keeper file. Made for May, 2008 Aussie/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 18, 2008
Glazed Lemon Scones