15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I tried this today - as a light lunch. Or brunch.
I used one whole tomato, sliced thickly, half on one and the other half on the other - but I used Cheesy muffins, from the supermarket (Cheesy from Tesco, Cheese N' Onion from Morrisons - yum!)
and I used Melton Ale N Mustard Ham - whooohooo!
Dashed next door to buy Mozzarella, popped the two halves layered in order: Ham, Tom, Mozzarella - under the grill (a broiler is a grill in the UK - and the first time I've used the one in this new flat) 5 mins to heat the grill, 3-5 to brown the cheese. Seconds to eat.
Only.... I just used one tomato, and I have a whole box to find ideas for using tomatoes....

Mind you, I could do another one, it was lovely. 8)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FranOnTheEdge May 04, 2011

Good breakfast recipe when you don't have any eggs on hand and want a hot filling breakfast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue March 16, 2008

YUM!!! So easy and delicious! I made these last night for myself and my kids for dinner. We were late getting home and I needed something quick and easy. They loved it and so did I! I can't wait to make them again! I had to use regular wheat toast instead of an english muffin (which I'm sure tastes even better). They still turned out wonderful though! Thank you Sandra for this recipe! : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewlmaker December 19, 2007

These were so easy and so good... even my kids liked 'em!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX June 07, 2007

I make this with pre-cooked bacon. just Zap the Bacon in the microwave, then prepare just as directed here. Delicious, and much more healthy than a fast food breakfast sandwich! Thanks! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Bee May 08, 2007

This little number is an excellent way to start the day!! Quick, easy & simple(which is what we all look for!!) and tastes great! You can even throw on a couple of fresh basil leaves under the cheese for something extra.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msathome May 08, 2007

I am eating these as I type this review.....YUM! I wanted something savory for breakfast today, but not eggs, and this is perfect! I do like the idea of fresh basil, so I think next time I will try that. It is very good!I'll make this again! Thanks! I'm updating my review to say that I am addicted to this!! I have been eating it for breakfast all week! I finally ran out of English muffins, so I've just been making it on toast and it's just as good! I also added some dried basil to it and it really gives it a wonderful flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly #5 March 08, 2007

Awesome! I sprayed some I Can't Believe It's Not Butter on the muffin after toasting it and then on top of the cheese before broiling it. I will make these over and over again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goatsybrooks October 25, 2006

Made this for lunch and it was good. Couldn't be more simple! Might try adding a little mustard or mayo to the english muffin next time, just for a little more flavor. I will also try adding some fresh basil on top. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate May 23, 2006

Made this quick and easy dish for a late breakfast. Very good. Served it with scrambled eggs. Thanks Sandrasothers. Bullwinkle.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle May 14, 2006
Ham, Tomato, and Mozzarella Breakfast Treats