Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Hash Browns Zucchini Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hash Browns Zucchini

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2003

      Great recipe,yooper! I let the zucchini sit for a while and then squeezed out all the moisture I could. I browned the patties in the fat from the bacon and cooked them up nice and crisp. Loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      I halved this recipe and substituted a little skim mozzarella for the parmesan. It turned out very well and I was grateful to have something different for my South Beach Diet breakfast. I recommend cooking the patties a little longer on a low fire just to soften up the grated zucchini a little more. I will definately make these again. Thanks Yooper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Marvelous recipe !!! I actually believe these are better than regular hash-browns in flavor and texture. Never again will I have to miss the taste of potatoes while on a low-carb eating plan...these are the perfect replacement. I had the zucchini when I came across this recipe and decided to try it immediately. I grated the zucchini with my food processor which made it so easy to porepare. I made 1/2 the recipe for just myself and found the patrties store and reheat well. The only change was the addition on 1 heaping Tablespoon of soy flour and cooked on low awhile as Miraklegirl suggested. I made a full recipe this week and have enjoyed them with my dinner meal along with breakfast. I topped some patties with a scant tablespoon of cottage cheese and others with plain low- fat yogurt as I am shying away from sour cream right now. Naturally I had to " cheat" and had one with catsup...yummmmmy. I suggest you give this recipe a try even if you are not on any special diet.... thanks for sharing Yooper !!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      Very good zucchini recipe. I sauteed the patties in bacon drippings because I had some on hand. Followed the recipe exactly but had difficulty keeping the patties together. May add a little amount of flour to the mixture the next time I made these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      My husband was so thrilled to have this! He started the Atkins diet and wanted something a little different. These "hash browns" were the perfect thing. I cut the recipe in half very easily, and served them with a little sour cream on top. Hubby just loved them. Thanks, yooper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This was quite delicious. I made the recipe exactly as listed. It was quite a hassle, battling the moisture issue, but well worth the results. I will be making them again. And again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Delicious! Like the others, I added some grated onion. Takes a while to fry up (just like real hash browns) but so worth the effort. I just made a batch for my 8yo daughter at her request - and she is a notorious veggie hater. And perfect for me, as I am doing Atkins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      Great for a low carb diet. I made just like the recipe stated. DH & I enjoyed these very much. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      Yummy! First time I followed the directions to a "T" and they were great. The second time I added onion and more cheese and a bit of bread crumbs. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Wow, yummie in the tummy. I too added shredded onions and some flour and my kids and I love these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      These were so delicious! I dried the zucchini between paper towels and then squeezed the excess water out. I also added two tablespoons of flour and they held together beautifully. One last little change...I grated onion in it. This is my new favorite way to eat zucchini!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      While I wouldn't consider these a hash brown substitute I would consider them a delicious addition to any meal. Took advantage of the previous 11 reviewers' suggestions. I added onion, squeezed the zucchini again after letting it sit in a collander for 2-3 hours, cooked it on low for 5 minutes each side, then raised the heat and crisped the patties for 2 minutes each side in a nonstick pan. Will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      Great recipe, super easy to make. Altho, I might put the zucchini in a colander next time to let the water drain out. My fiancee and son LOVED them, I wasn't as pleased with the result, but that is me cooking them right - I have to work on my technique for cooking them. Will cook again :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      I prepared these as part of my breakfast, but think that I would prefer them as a part of lunch. I think that serving them up with cottage cheese and sliced tomatoes would be wonderful. I used roasted garlic instead of regular and butter-flavored cooking spray instead of the butter. The patties were a bit softer than I had anticipated, but the flavor was good. I like the suggestion of adding a bit of onion. I appreciate the review that notes the patties store and reheat well, as I will be having a couple for lunch. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      I just made these today and they were very good! The only thing I wish I had done was press them down flatter while they were cooking. Inside was just a tad to soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      Very nice. I will make these for breakfast a lot. I also added some finely chopped onion to the mix. They were great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2004

      I loved these things. As another reviewer said, I also think I like these better than hash brown potatoes. I can't wait to make them again for breakfast as a base for low carb Eggs Benedict. The only change I'll make is to let them sit in a strainer for a while after squeezing the first time. They were still giving up moisture after I mixed with the other ingredients. I'll also be sure to use a nonstick fry pan next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2004

      I really enjoyed this one. It did give me a feeling of having something to eat besides meat. Thank you. Its a keeper. Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      Nice change of pace from the "other" hash browns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hash Browns Zucchini

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 199.2
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    74%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 142.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 539.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites