11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I eat one of these muffins every day for breakfast. I use 1/8 cup brown sugar Splenda as the only sweetener (omit the honey/molasses). I also use Ener G egg replacer, and substitute applesauce (a snack-size cup) for the oil. Oh and I add 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I guess it doesn't much resemble the original recipe, but it tastes good and is great for my cholesterol "issue". Even my picky preschooler loves these.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loralieva March 02, 2011

These are the best blueberry muffins I have ever tasted in my entire life!!!!! For sweetener I used 1/4 cup coconut palm sugar (a complex brown sugar) and 1/4 cup raw wildflower honey. Instead of vegetable oil I used 3 1/2 tbsp of earth balance organic butter. Instead of milk I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk. The flavor of these muffins is incredible. My recipe is dairy free and with natural sweeteners. Thank you so much for this recipe it is my new favorite!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryperrino October 17, 2014

These are very good, easy muffins. With the sugar and molasses as written, they were nicely sweet. I also added dried blueberries and Craisins. They definitely taste healthy, but make a very nice, grab-and-go breakfast or snack. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle July 18, 2013

Yummy! I subbed Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and eggbeaters. I somehow got mixed up and used a whole cup of eggbeaters, but they turned out really moist, so I think next time I'll use half a cup and see how that works out. I used both fresh blueberries and banana. They weren't very banana-y, so I think next time I'll use 2. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesley.garrison May 16, 2010

2 thumbs up! I used a coarser oat bran and fresh blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear February 14, 2010

Very good and simple to make. I had remembered loving marionberry bran muffins back in college and I was looking for the recipe. I used this recipe and added about 3/4 cup blackberries (couldn't find marionberries) after draining some of the excess juice. The muffins were great and tasted very similar to what I had remembered. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ACMonty January 20, 2010

the name 'incredible' fits this recipe perfectly! the taste reminded me semolina halva. I added 1/2 cup raisins + 1/2 almond/pecan meal, put 1/3 cup butter and baked it in a 9' round baking pan like a cake. Another version that I have tried: replace brown sugar and honey with maple syrup and add a teaspoon cocoa powder:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ozlem December 15, 2009

I love these! I made them plain and the texture and flavour are very good. I used white sugar (my brown sugar was a brick) and molasses. I'm looking forward to trying different variations. I think cheese (like old cheddar or gouda) and chopped apples would be really good, or raisins or blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deniseheth March 29, 2009

I give it 5 stars for a recipe with no wheat and they were great. And only 126 calories a muffin. Everyone liked them. I used agave for all the sweetner and added 1/4c more oatbran (forgot to reduce the milk for the extra 1/4c of liquid for the brown sugar.) I thought the texture was good and mine weren't crumbly. I made plain ones, but next time I will try to flavor them with something, most likely cinnamon, but the fruit sounds good, also some cheese savory flavored ones sound good. The recipe on the bag of oatbran I bought was half bran and half wheat flour, this is much better. Would have loved to have had this recipe 25 years ago when I was doing a no wheat, rice or corn diet for my daughter. Much better than buckwheat muffins!!!! Thanks for sharing. We forget there are people who NEED these recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grfox33 September 30, 2008
Incredible Oat Bran Muffins, Plain, Blueberry or Banana