8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just got back from a ski trip. I printed out this recipe and took it with me so I could make it for breakfast in the condo. An excellent bowl of oatmeal. I let the raisins set overnight and that worked out fine. I didn't have fresh berries so just thawed out frozen ones and that worked well, too. Very hearty, very delicious. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Catherine cpa January 29, 2004

I got the idea for steel cut oatmeal from an article on Jillian Michaels' website, team trainer for The Biggest Loser. I searched all of the steel cut oat recipes on Food.com and found this one - I'm willing to work out twice a day to eat this regularly! WOW - this is truly fabulous. I'm eating this as I'm typing this review and I can't stop saying mmmmmmmm. It took at least twice the amount of water and about 30 minutes on the stovetop, but it was worth every minute. Make sure you stir it several times while it's cooking so the water stays incorporated with the oats instead of floating to the top or it will take longer to cook. Treat yourself - you'll be glad you did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nita A. October 23, 2010

This was wonderful. We used the steel oats and used blackberries as a topping. Had extra brandy and raisin sauce, so will save that for another time. Definitely will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser March 09, 2008

I live in the southwest United States, and in my local Fry's Food and Drug (aka Kroger's) they stock Quaker brand steel-cut oats in the same cardboard canister as their regular and quick-cooking oats come in, except I think the color of the canister is different, but all three varieties are stocked in the same aisle. HTH along with the other people's comments :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage August 10, 2007

This oatmeal is just downright decadent! I first made it this summer while on a camping trip in South Haven, MI. I prepped the brandy raisin sauce before our trip and we made this with fresh Blueberries we picked while camping. We served it with thick cut slab bacon cooked over an open fire. D-E-C-A-D-E-N-T!!! Need I say more... We have also made this several times since. Thank you for sharing such an incredible and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princess.and.the.pea February 28, 2007

Irish steel-cut oats are very commonly found on supermarket shelves these days. They are with the regular oatmeal, but are packaged in a round, metal canister.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeSouter January 02, 2005

I find steel-cut oats in health food stores, or, my most recent find, in a kitchen supply/bulk food store, where the price was considerably less (YAY!). If you've never tried them, they're worth the hunt!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise March 22, 2004

This was delicious! Easy to prepare with accurate instructions, although I did end up with lots of extra raisins. This was so good, I may make this again tomorrow morning too. I did use real Irish oats and really enjoyed this unique twist on their preparation. I cut the amount of butter in half and used half-n-half rather than cream to reduce the calories and this was plenty rich & creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 28, 2004
Irish Oatmeal