Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Irish Omelet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Irish Omelet

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2009

      Lovely base recipe, I agree that this opens itself up to so many possibilities. I always like recipe where you beat the egg whites as it gives such a nice light texture and this is no exception. I don't know what a knish is but it was very similar to a souffle. I used instant potatoes as that's what I had and that seemed to work fine. Also added bacon and shredded mozzarella cheese and after thinking about it wish I'd also added green onion. Served with toasted french bread and hot coffee. I was looking for a differant omelet and this fit the bill. I followed all the cooking instructions exactly and it turned out great. Thanks Toni for a lovely breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Yummy breakfast today! I used a bit more potato than listed, but it worked just fine. I also didn't bother peeling them before cooking. I made these exactly as listed and it cooked very quickly. I ended up using a dollop of sour cream on it too. Made for my adopted chef for Fall 2009 PAC. Thanks justcallmetoni! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      YUM! I was surprised how good this was. I cut the recipe in half, since it was just me. I also added one strip of cooked, crumbled bacon, a little chopped green bell pepper, and about a tablespoon of cheddar cheese. I didn't have any chives, so left those out. I didn't finish it off in the oven, it was so thick, it flipped over nicely, so I just browned the other side. I was making hollandaise sauce for somthing completely separate, but ended up topping it with a little of that and it was a nice addition. Salsa would be good too. What a great base recipe! The possibilites are endless with this one. The texture is great, very filling but also light. Thanks for this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Fabulicious!!! I will never make omelets any other way again. I used chives, green onions, cheese, and ham along with the potato and eggs. I used 5 eggs because they were smaller and it made a large 14 inch omelet. We ate it all for supper and I wish there were some leftovers it would be great in the AM for a quick breakfast on my way out the door. Will have to double recipe next time. Thank you justcallmetoni for the great recipe. Made for ZWT4 for team CHIC CHEFS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Awesome. This was just so easy & yet still good. I have to admit I was kind of reluctant to try it since I am used to eating desi style spicy omelet. But this was just perfect. The recipe doesn't specify the amount of salt & pepper so for people who might get confused like me in the start, I added 1/4 heaped teaspoon salt & 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Thanks Tony.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I couldn't believe how fluffy this turned out and the leftovers reheated nicely in the micro. I mashed a fresh potato with some flavored veggie cream cheese spread and it gave a nice "herb" flavor. Thanks Toni, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      The technique made a REALLY light and fluffy omelet. I used roasted garlic mashed potatoes and topped the omelet with goat cheese and some leftover carmelized onions. It was wonderful! The technique (beating the egg whites) will be used anytime I make an omelet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      this was fun and puffy and a good use for left over potatoes. i had some chipolte potatoes from dinner and used those. nice heat. i think next time i will put morevegetables in them though. they were almost too airy and we wanted more chunks of veggies. i guess its more of a personal taste. but it was fun and easy. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      My husband especially enjoyed this. H loves potatoes. I added a pinch of herb to provence. Leanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      I liked this omelet and would have given it 5 stars but two of the other people eating it weren't to crazy for it and covered it in salsa. I served this with bacon and scone Best Buttermilk Raisin Scones. Thanks toni gifford. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

    • on August 11, 2006

      Excellent omelet. Light and fluffy with a very nice texture. I did however, add a hand full of mixed cheese to the egg mixture which added a great flavor. Thanks Toni

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      This made a nice and easy lunch. I cut the recipe down to one egg and adjusted the other amounts accordingly. I sprinkled lightly with some parmesan cheese and more green onions before putting in under the broiler. When the cheese melted I folded it over and had a yummy lunch. I think the garlic would probably be a good addition as suggestion by some of the other reviewers. Thank you for sharing your recipe toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      I followed the advice of several reviewers and added 1 chopped onion and 4 cloves of chopped garlic, which I lightly sautéed in a separate pan before I started to make the omelet. And I followed katie’s suggestion of adding thyme and grated cheese. I’d never made an omelet this way before, and I was delighted with the end results. The texture was wonderful as was the flavour. Another delicious find on the Zaar World Tour, and one I’ll be making again, with fond memories of visiting Ireland! Thanks for sharing this recipe, toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      This made a very pretty dish, but I agree, it needed a little something. I think that I will add athe fresh minced onions next time, but it was good just the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      I liked the consistency of this easy omelet, but it seemed kind of bland to me. Maybe next time I’ll add some garlic, onions, cheese or curry powder as variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      I had left over potatoes from dinner last night, I also added thyme and just a little shredded swiss cheese. Perfect- Puffy- light- couldn't ask for anything more omelet!!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      The directions on this are very well written. I cooked the omelet in an 8-inch cast iron skillet that is well seasoned. I did not have fresh chives so I used minced green onions. A touch of shredded cheese was added before putting under the broiler. Thank you toni for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      Great way to use leftovers. Quick, easy and healthy breakfast for the little guy before school. The three year old liked it so what else is there to say? :D Zaar World Tour 05

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Irish Omelet

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.6
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    37%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 382.0 mg
    127%
    Sodium 186.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites