9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you're looking for a waffle recipe that produces a nice, light, airy waffle - then this is your recipe. I used 2 tbsp. of sugar but that was the only modification I made on the original recipe. The next time I will double it because my family commented throughout breakfast about how delicious they were. I used a belgian waffle maker for mine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MontanaSuz October 30, 2011

Great waffles!!! I liked that there is very little sugar in the batter. I only made half of the recipe to serve two of us. I also didn't have buttermilk and used lemon juice and 2% milk and also had to sub all purpose flour. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Secret Ingredient Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 07, 2009

Believe it or not, this was the first time I've ever made anything using cake flour! That said, you've got AN ABSOLUTELY GREAT RECIPE ~ I always enjoy the things that the use of buttermilk does for things like this! Definitely a keeper of a recipe! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Election Eats tag game]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 03, 2008

I made these for my PAC baby! Breakfast is always a big thing in our house & these waffles went down a treat! DS loves waffles but absolutely inhaled these - DS & I were also very impressed. These are just perfect - crispy on the outside & soft & sweet on the inside....DELICIOUS! Thanks Sweetiebarbara for such a scrumptious waffle :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia March 31, 2008

I make a big family breakfast about once a week. This is the very best waffle recipe ever. I have made it several times. I like my waffles sweeter so I add 1/2-1 cup sugar. With 1c. sugar they are crispy and so good. Whipping the egg whites seperatly takes a little extra work but it is worth it. We top them with fruit and whipped cream. yummy yummy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wolfenbit September 25, 2007

A very nice, light flavorful waffle. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junebug March 29, 2007

These passed the DH taste- and that's really saying something! I had no buttermilk or cake flour on hand, so I soured the milk with lemon juice and used regular flour. These waffles came out perfectly- light and airy, very crisp and stayed that way even after being drenched in syrup (thus winning DH's approval). My standard waffle recipe from now on! Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizbits March 07, 2007

I just made these and we loved them! They were so light and crunchy! I didn't have cake flour, so I had to use regular flour. I can only imagine how much lighter they'd be with the cake flour. I will never use Bisquick again - this recipe is a keeper! Thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TraceyMae January 28, 2007

These were light and airy on the inside and nice and crispy on the outside. The buttermilk adds that something special to the taste. I did cut back on the butter by a few tablespoons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee June 05, 2007
Jackie's Waffles