23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these with orange which was what I had on hand, I used part wholemeal flour also & not as much sugar as called for, these were plenty sweet and lovely and spongy, I mashed up some of my blackberries so my mixture was a bit purple but these were a hit with miss 5 year old. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** February 21, 2011

Doubled the recipe but used only 1/2 cup sugar. Could have used more sweetener for the kids Used partially thawed blackberrys which worked great. Cooked for 22 min. which left them nice and brown and fluffy. Great recipe, will use again with other fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winging it December 14, 2011

These were pretty good. I tripled the recipe and was able to make 24 nicely sized muffins, which I baked for 16 minutes. I think they could have used a few more blackberries. I used small, wild ones tossed with a bit of sugar. If you have large ones, you'll definitely need to chop them up first. Since my blackberries were frozen, I just gently folded them in. Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun May 09, 2011

This one deserves way more than 5 stars!I have to honestly say it is one of the best muffins I have ever made,fantastic!I doubled the recipe and got 12 muffins.I used half white flour and half whole wheat.Instead of all lemon juice I also used some grapefruit juice and a 1/2 tsp lemon extract.These would be great with blueberries,cranberries,strawberries,any fruit really.I quartered up the blackberries and it worked out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny February 27, 2011

This may be the perfect muffin! So easy and so good. Crunchy muffin top, moist and springy inside. Just enough lemony flavor to complement the berries! I made this exactly like the recipe, and I admit I was worried when I saw how thick the batter was and how few muffins I got out of it. (7 regular sized muffins). I baked them exactly 22 minutes.
I am going to make myself another batch. Next time however, I will double the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary JPGR September 26, 2010

These are perfect! I made the recipe as directed, except I smooshed about half of the berries with my fingers as I put them in each muffin. The edges turned out slightly crisp, and the insides soft and fluffy. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon June 27, 2010

Great tasting! Next time I'll chop my blackberries up a bit before adding them. Most of them ended up staying uncooking and whole. They were still good though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u June 20, 2010

These muffins were definitely moist and tasted great! I made some with blackberries and some with frozen raspberries. We liked the raspberry ones even better. I also used whole wheat flour, but it turned out perfectly. The only problem was that they weren't quite lemony enough for my liking. Next time, I will add more lemon juice and zest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
komcdonald June 06, 2010

Delicious, delicious! I doubled the batch. The batter is very springy, not runny, and I knew the muffins would be fluffy and light. My blackberries were huge, and I think took up a bit more space than usual, b/c I had enough leftover batter to make 12 large muffins plus about 10 teeny mini-muffins (we call 'em "muffin shots"). These are perfectly lemony & not overly sweet with the bursts of blackberries -- perfect. The possibilities with raspberries or blueberries or subbing lime instead of lemon would all be delish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal April 17, 2010

Love the lemon flavor. Such a great muffin that any fresh berry would be fantastic in it. I used fresh blackberries and they are wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberlyac84 July 29, 2009
Lemon Blackberry Muffins