12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When a serving of something has more than 10 Net Carbs, it is definitely NOT low carb!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana Lee September 13, 2012

Excellent recipe. I added 2 tbl Splenda and separated the eggs and folded in the beaten egg whites. Makes them lighter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdowens171 January 27, 2007

I must say I was quite impressed @ how good & easy these were. I always like to read the reviews of others so I added 1 T cinnamon, 1 t baking powder, 2 T splenda and next time I'll do the egg suggestion. I put fresh raspberries on mine to keep the carbs lower vs. syrup and it was fabulous. I wouldn't have changed a thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaprisun7 July 09, 2011

These were really good. I added a little Stevia, 2 T. of flax, and a dash of cinnamon. I also separated the eggs and beat the egg whites, then folded them in. Made 3 "double" waffles. They were very light and had a great texture this way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
perennialtiles March 06, 2011

One of our favorites! Thank you -we added wheat flax in lieu of wheat germ -tasted great and I add about 1 Tbsp of cinnamon and and 3 Tbsps of splenda and then we don't need syrup! thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caram January 18, 2010

My family loves these waffles, and requests them every weekend! The only thing that I do differently, which I highly recommend, is folding in one or two whipped egg whites into the batter. Yummo!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear November 01, 2009

One word, FAB*U*LOUS!!! These taste so good, not real heavy and the vanilla in it makes them smell wonderful while baking. No more frozen waffles for me I will be making these and filling my freezer! Just need to add a little splenda as I feel waffles should be a sweet batter otherwise perfect. Thank you for making south beach so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic January 27, 2009

These were really good! I halved the recipe & used oat flour (about 1/3 cup), fat free cottage cheese, 1/3 cup Eggbeaters, added 1 1/2 tsp Splenda & cinnamon. They are nice, light & crisp. Excellent recipe; thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS August 12, 2008

hate to put a damper on things, but these as written were not very good. i had to tweak it quite a bit to make them edible. at the very least add a couple teaspoons of baking poweder to make them a little fluffy and less like hockey pucks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MuddyMommaPottery February 09, 2008

I made this but added 1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce and 2 tsp cinnamon. My 3 year old even ate them plain. They are kind of heavy but they are good for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawni August 26, 2006
Low Carb Waffles