9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice flavours and super easy to make. I thought the sunflower seeds were a nice addition as they toasted in the oven and gave a nice nutty crunch to the frittatas. I used brown rice flour to suit my gluten-free diet. I thought the frittatas were difficult to remove from my silicon muffin pans when first out of the oven but they were easier after about 5 minutes. I think I shoukd have added less oil and more flour....but that was my mistake with my first attempt at this recipe and trying to make gf suitable. Thought these were great a room temp

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** December 15, 2009

ABSOLUTELY GREAt TASTING FRITTATAS, & as with others who made this recipe, I did not include the oil! Originally I was going to cut the recipe in half, but am glad I didn't 'cause these are so satisfying that they're great for any meal of the day! I'll definitely be keeping this recipe on hand! [Tagged, made & reviewed as a PRESSIE in the Aus/NZ 12 Days of Christmas Recipe Swap]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 04, 2008

We really enjoyed these! I added a yellow squash, and used feta for the cheese. I also omitted the oil based on other reviews and it worked out really well. Thanks for a great dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southernmomma September 09, 2008

this a great base recipe. I think it will be a real winner with the grandkids. I will make it again as an appy, fill a hollow tomato or capsicum with the mix, and maybe add a little parmesan. thanks Jen, your recipes are always good:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills August 10, 2008

These were really tasty. Surprisingly they were also really filling - I was already full by the time I had eaten two! After reading the other reviews, I omitted the oil completely and it worked well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose June 23, 2008

This recipe definitely deserves 5 stars. The first time I made this, I made the following changes: dragonfly's bulk uncheese mix in place of the edam cheese and no sunflower seeds. I found it delicious, but really oily and greasy. I just made my second batch tonight with the following changes: nutritional yeast for the cheese, no sunflower seeds, and 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the oil. It was even better than my first try. Not greasy at all, just pure deliciousness! Thank you for posting. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie March 28, 2008

My husband and I enjoyed these mini frittatas. I love that they are full of vegetables. Had these for lunch and got a lot of inquiries from the office lunch crowd. The sunflower seeds on top added just the right touch. The only thing I may try next time is to reduce the oil by half and see how that works out. These would be great served at a party or as an afterschool snack. Made for Australian/New Zealand recipe swap. Thanks, JenT. Will make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 18, 2008

These are very good and are easy to make. The sunflower seeds are a good addition, and give a nice crunch as they toast on the top. The only thing I might change the next time I make them is to reduce the amount of oil and/or not grease the muffin tin, as there was quite a lot of oil and it separated out a bit. I should have doubled the recipe, too. I want some more! Update: I tried not greasing the tin (non-stick metal tin) and they stuck badly! This may work with silicone, but I'd advise against not greasing a normal tin. I'm adding this instead of removing it from my original comment so that no one else ruins theirs if they have the same (not so) bright idea as I did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo C November 19, 2007

Outstanding, such an easy and tasty recipe!! They are wonderful hot or cold and would make a great addition to the lunchbox. I used fresh corn kernels cut striaght from the cob in place of the canned. Next time would double the sunflower seeds and mix them in with the vege mix as they give a great crunch. Mine only took around 20 minutes to cook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie September 09, 2007
Mini Vegetable Frittatas