Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Mom's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Buttermilk Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2009

      These biscuits came out tall, light and fluffy. However, I think it needs like 1 tablespoon or so of sugar because the taste is missing something. The other thing is that the temperature is too high. I only baked mine for 12 minutes but they came out on the burnt side. The next time, I will bake them at 375. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      First time I have had biscuits come out that I could eat and not have to give to the dogs! The recipe could not have been easier! I submitted a pic of my results and although they may not look beautiful they taste great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      I was making breakfast for our dinner on 5/6/09, and wanted to make some biscuits. So, did a search, and decided to try this recipe. And I'm so very glad I did :).As with all biscuit recipes, I always double sift the dry ingredients. To me, it seems to make the biscuits rise much higher than if you just stirred the dry ingredients. After adding the shortening, I used my fingers to blend it into the flour ( That's the way I was taught to do it ).After adding the buttermilk and mixing in, I did have to add in a bit more flour to get everything into a soft ball. As I always do, the dough was patted out instead of rolled. I think it makes for a much softer finished product.For my oven, the baking time and temp. was " right on the money " . The taste was light, airy, and just melted in your mouth.And I have to tell you, " this biscuit recipe was " WAY BETTER " than my Mom's ". This " WILL " be made again. Thank you so much for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Awesome recipe! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Oooh, delicious and fluffy biscuits! Instead of shortening, I substituted half butter and half lard. Easy to make and oh so good with honey! Thanks! cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I made these for my DH this morning for breakfast and he loved them! I served with country gravy and veggie sausage. Thanks Julie! Made for Please Review My Recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      I had my husband make these last night, they were so good. I ate one for breakfast this morning with jelly, (my favorite breakfast). I hate to roll out the dough so my husband makes the biscuits. Very easy and yummy recipe thanks puppitypup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

    • on April 08, 2007

      I've never had luck with biscuits before I made these. But these just rose and rose! The texture and flavor is wonderful. I used butter flavored crisco. You've made me so happy puppitypup, now I can have biscuits any time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      These are really nice biscuits, they were very quick and easy to make with great results. A tall, crispy, tender biscuit, with nice flavour. We enjoyed these very much. I can't wait to have these toasted tomorrow with ginger marmalade and sharp cheddar for breakfast. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Buttermilk Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (640 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.5
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    35%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 313.5 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites