Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Muesli in a Slow Cooker / Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Muesli in a Slow Cooker / Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2012

      This is terrific muesli/granola! I used regular brown sugar and stirred every 20 minutes and it worked out fine. I didn't add the bran, and for nuts I used almonds. I love this mixed into yogurt so I didn't add any dried fruit; I'll add it at serving time when I use this as a cereal. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added some cinnamon about halfway through the cooking time. Love this - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Let's see, where to begin? First of all I would recommend reading through all of the reviews first. That helped me tremendously. I used a 3-quart slow cooker which was greased first then heated up with the cover on. The recipe was cut in half and I threw in a variety of grains all in flake form: barley, rye, triticale and of course oats. A variety of dried fruit was added: cranberries, raisins, pomegranates, red raspberries, cherries, black currants. Nuts/seeds: almonds, sesame seeds, pepitas, sunflower (forgot to add the Oregon-grown hazelnuts!) Spices: cinnamon, ground ginger, pinch freshly grated nutmeg. (Demerara sugar, too. ) Added all this along with the other ingredients in the list to the crock pot and cooked on HIGH 1 hour. Stirred. Added one more tablespoon of oil. Cooked another hour on HIGH. Stirred. Reduced to LOW and cooked another 45 minutes-1 hour. Perfect. Somewhat crunchy-almost more like granola. Absolutely delicious with a splash of fresh cream from the local dairy farm. Will make again! Reviewed for Australian/NZ Swap #50.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      Though this isn't officially out of the crock pot yet, I have done enough sampling to be able to rate it. I must first tell you that I left out the wheat germ so that my husband could enjoy this too, and subbed whole golden flax seed in it's place. Oh, and this is VERY IMPORTANT: I did not preheat my crock pot ahead of time, because many of the newer units have an automatic kill switch that will terminate your crock pot forever as a safety device should you forget and leave it on with little to nothing left in the unit (I know this from experience). When I added the oil to the oats, I also stirred in 2 Tbs. real maple syrup and a pinch more vanilla then the recipe called for. I also added the coconut, and sunflower seeds. Then once the first hour was up, I stirred in some chopped dried apricot, chopped dried apple, dried tart cherries, dried cranberries, cashew pieces, and some roasted cinnamon. Now my house smells heavenly! I will definitely make this often. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe Kathy. Now comes the hard part....I have to share the muesli. Made and reviewed for the 50th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      I absolutely love this recipe especially since my 2 college kids ask me to make it by the gallons for them. I modified it to make it gluten free for my daughter. I use the oats, 1 cup each oat bran, coconut, sliced almonds, pumpkin seeds, and sunflower seeds, 1/2 cup flax seeds, 1/2 cup raw sugar, 1/3 cup olive oil and 2 tsp vanilla. Based on other reviews I add 2 full tsp cinnamon after 1 hour and I oil the crockpot before adding the mix. Stirring every 20 minutes or so keeps it from getting too brown in spots. This is fabulous on yogurt. I have found it really easy to order the grains from a farm in Maine, they show up at my door fresh and ready to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      I will be making this often!! Very easy and very delicious! I used an assortment of nuts and chopped dried fruits - pretty much followed the recipe as stated (did not preheat) except that I added the dried fruit partway through the cooking because I wanted it crunchier and not as chewy. SO good over yogurt! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      Perfect!! I may never go back to making muesli/granola in the oven. This is much easier and turns out better. I didn't preheat my slow cooker, nor did I pregrease it. I cooked on high setting for 2 hours, stirring once, then left it another 1/2 hour on the keep warm feature. I also added 2 or 3 tbsp of maple syrup. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      What an excellent way to make muesli, I love it! And it toasts up beautifully. I did find though that I needed to watch the last hour as if you didn't stir, it would have burnt. So glad I found this as my favourite muesli is extremely expensive. At the moment I am enjoying my muesli each morning with a Byron Bay Ginger juice poured over it instead of yoghurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      My granola recipe has 8 tbsp of oil for roughly these proportions so I was keen to try a low fat version. I found after two hours the oats had not really changed color in my slow cooker. Not sure if my slow cooker is a problem but I don't think so because it works well for all other recipes and it was quite hot. I ended up adding an extra 4 tbsp of oil and putting it in the oven for around 20 min at 300 stirring frequently. I like the proportions and combination's but my family found it not to be sweet enough. The slow cooker method definitely did not work for me anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This was very good muesli--it reminded me of a gourmet version of the muesli we used to buy in Australia. I couldn't find bran here, so I added extra oats. I added pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and chopped almonds. I also sprinkled in some cinnamon half way through (after reading other reviews). Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This is a great granola recipe of the fact that you're not heating up your oven for an hour. I cooked mine on low in the crockpot for over two hours and then on high for one hour. I omitted the coconut and sugar to up the health factor. I added chopped pecans and almonds and tossed in about 1/2 cup raisins. Also used the olive oil like you suggested and 2 T. of maple syrup to up the sweet factor a bit. This is a very versatile recipe and I"m glad I tagged for AU RecipeSwap - January~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I did a half batch of this & added pepitas, almonds, sunflower seeds & flax. I love the fact that this toasted nicely with about half the oil than most recipes call for. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      A very good unique recipe! I never thought granola could be made in a crockpot! I had no bran or germ so I used extra oats, flax, and sesame. I did put a little bit of cinnamon in. I was hoping to get a little bit of a cluster texture, but I realize with the limited oil (a real plus!) that was not too feasible. I made a big container of this and took it to the beach with me. It was a nice sunrise breakfast. I bet it is good hot, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      You could sell this stuff in a box and make some cash! Cooked absolutely perfectly in 2 hours IN THE CROCKPOT. . .who would have guessed! I have made a LOT of muesli and granola recipes and they are always on the verge of being overdone. Not this one! I used peanuts, flax seed, sesame seed and pecans for nuts. Then used tart dried cherries as well as 2oz of bite sized dried fruit by Welch's (raisin, cranberries plus tropical fruits). I also added 1.5 tsp Cinnamon due to personal preference. Extremely tasty and healthy, the way I like it. Made for "Adopt a Joey" August 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Muesli in a Slow Cooker / Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.3
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    33%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 11.7 g
    47%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites