13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is terrific muesli/granola! I used regular brown sugar and stirred every 20 minutes and it worked out fine. I didn't add the bran, and for nuts I used almonds. I love this mixed into yogurt so I didn't add any dried fruit; I'll add it at serving time when I use this as a cereal. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and added some cinnamon about halfway through the cooking time. Love this - thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof September 21, 2012

Let's see, where to begin? First of all I would recommend reading through all of the reviews first. That helped me tremendously. I used a 3-quart slow cooker which was greased first then heated up with the cover on. The recipe was cut in half and I threw in a variety of grains all in flake form: barley, rye, triticale and of course oats. A variety of dried fruit was added: cranberries, raisins, pomegranates, red raspberries, cherries, black currants. Nuts/seeds: almonds, sesame seeds, pepitas, sunflower (forgot to add the Oregon-grown hazelnuts!) Spices: cinnamon, ground ginger, pinch freshly grated nutmeg. (Demerara sugar, too. ) Added all this along with the other ingredients in the list to the crock pot and cooked on HIGH 1 hour. Stirred. Added one more tablespoon of oil. Cooked another hour on HIGH. Stirred. Reduced to LOW and cooked another 45 minutes-1 hour. Perfect. Somewhat crunchy-almost more like granola. Absolutely delicious with a splash of fresh cream from the local dairy farm. Will make again! Reviewed for Australian/NZ Swap #50.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 18, 2011

Though this isn't officially out of the crock pot yet, I have done enough sampling to be able to rate it. I must first tell you that I left out the wheat germ so that my husband could enjoy this too, and subbed whole golden flax seed in it's place. Oh, and this is VERY IMPORTANT: I did not preheat my crock pot ahead of time, because many of the newer units have an automatic kill switch that will terminate your crock pot forever as a safety device should you forget and leave it on with little to nothing left in the unit (I know this from experience). When I added the oil to the oats, I also stirred in 2 Tbs. real maple syrup and a pinch more vanilla then the recipe called for. I also added the coconut, and sunflower seeds. Then once the first hour was up, I stirred in some chopped dried apricot, chopped dried apple, dried tart cherries, dried cranberries, cashew pieces, and some roasted cinnamon. Now my house smells heavenly! I will definitely make this often. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe Kathy. Now comes the hard part....I have to share the muesli. Made and reviewed for the 50th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 11, 2011

I absolutely love this recipe especially since my 2 college kids ask me to make it by the gallons for them. I modified it to make it gluten free for my daughter. I use the oats, 1 cup each oat bran, coconut, sliced almonds, pumpkin seeds, and sunflower seeds, 1/2 cup flax seeds, 1/2 cup raw sugar, 1/3 cup olive oil and 2 tsp vanilla. Based on other reviews I add 2 full tsp cinnamon after 1 hour and I oil the crockpot before adding the mix. Stirring every 20 minutes or so keeps it from getting too brown in spots. This is fabulous on yogurt. I have found it really easy to order the grains from a farm in Maine, they show up at my door fresh and ready to go.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ckoni February 08, 2013

I will be making this often!! Very easy and very delicious! I used an assortment of nuts and chopped dried fruits - pretty much followed the recipe as stated (did not preheat) except that I added the dried fruit partway through the cooking because I wanted it crunchier and not as chewy. SO good over yogurt! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keee November 03, 2012

Perfect!! I may never go back to making muesli/granola in the oven. This is much easier and turns out better. I didn't preheat my slow cooker, nor did I pregrease it. I cooked on high setting for 2 hours, stirring once, then left it another 1/2 hour on the keep warm feature. I also added 2 or 3 tbsp of maple syrup. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues June 23, 2011

What an excellent way to make muesli, I love it! And it toasts up beautifully. I did find though that I needed to watch the last hour as if you didn't stir, it would have burnt. So glad I found this as my favourite muesli is extremely expensive. At the moment I am enjoying my muesli each morning with a Byron Bay Ginger juice poured over it instead of yoghurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies June 11, 2010

My granola recipe has 8 tbsp of oil for roughly these proportions so I was keen to try a low fat version. I found after two hours the oats had not really changed color in my slow cooker. Not sure if my slow cooker is a problem but I don't think so because it works well for all other recipes and it was quite hot. I ended up adding an extra 4 tbsp of oil and putting it in the oven for around 20 min at 300 stirring frequently. I like the proportions and combination's but my family found it not to be sweet enough. The slow cooker method definitely did not work for me anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen December 30, 2009

This was very good muesli--it reminded me of a gourmet version of the muesli we used to buy in Australia. I couldn't find bran here, so I added extra oats. I added pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and chopped almonds. I also sprinkled in some cinnamon half way through (after reading other reviews). Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonesy April 01, 2009

This is a great granola recipe of the fact that you're not heating up your oven for an hour. I cooked mine on low in the crockpot for over two hours and then on high for one hour. I omitted the coconut and sugar to up the health factor. I added chopped pecans and almonds and tossed in about 1/2 cup raisins. Also used the olive oil like you suggested and 2 T. of maple syrup to up the sweet factor a bit. This is a very versatile recipe and I"m glad I tagged for AU RecipeSwap - January~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB January 02, 2009
Muesli in a Slow Cooker / Crock Pot