28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

amazing! our batter was not runny at all, didn't soak the oats but used instant oats so maybe that made the difference. toddlers loved them. oh, and i used walnuts. my waffle iron (makes one single round, not belgian though...) made 8 of these.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel October 17, 2009

This recipe makes outstanding and nutritious waffles! I was pretty concerned while mixing up the batter because it was very, very thin. I added another 1/2 + of flour and it still looked thinner than the waffles I normally make, but I went ahead and spooned it into my hot, round waffle iron. When they were done, I lifed the lid to find a perfectly puffy, and slightly crisp waffle...beautiful to behold. For some reason, this recipe only made 10 waffles. We ate 4 and I froze the rest for another time. I think this basic recipe will work well with some other ingredients and spices added for variety. I appreciate you posting this great, healthy recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema October 17, 2003

Really good! I had to omit the nuts because it my was first go with my new waffle maker and my kids had HIGH expectations:) They ate them up and loved them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisamareejones July 25, 2010

Made this for my kiddos this morning and everyone loved it. Only change was that I wisked the eggs into 1 cup of the milk before adding to the flour and then just used a hand wisk (instead of an electric beater) to mix it all together. Thanks Ocean~Ivy for sharing this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Girle January 28, 2009

Perfect waffles! I took the advice of the previous reviewer and used skim milk, Smart Balance Light in place of butter and 1/2 cup walnuts. Topped with sliced bananas and sugar-free syrup, this was a welcoming, warm weekend breakfast for us. I froze the extras for quick weekday wake-me-ups! Thanks Ocean-Ivy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick January 24, 2009

These are great waffles! I made a couple major changes, though: I subbed skim milk for whole milk, non-hydrogenated margarine for butter, I halved the nuts (personal preferance) and used walnuts because i was out of pecans, and used a flax and water egg substitute which added to the nuttiness! I mixed all the dry ingrediants the night before (including the nuts and oats) and just mixed the 4 wet ingrediants into them the next morning, which saved time. and they were still amazing! a very flexable recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy January 08, 2009

Good, crunchy and soft at the same time. Takes less time to cook in my belgian waffle press, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabetsy October 21, 2008

Loved them!!! I used applesauce in place of the butter and it turned out great!! Will be making these again. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom_of_4 January 10, 2007

Yum! These were awseome! The batter is VERY thin and I too ended up adding about 1/2 cup more flour (and it was still THIN) but they turned out perfect! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker October 06, 2005

Excellent. I added 2T vinegar to the milk & let sit for a while (a trick I learned as a buttermilk replacement which softens the gluten in the flour & yields a more tender bread). I didn't have the full amount of pecans, so I made up the difference with ground almonds. I also added frozen blueberries (kids love blueberry waffles) with great results. <br/>My. DD who doesn't "like"nuts really enjoyed these. They're filling & full of fiber & protein, which is what they need to get through the morning in school.<br/>For those cocerned with the batter being runny or thin, let them sit for 5-10 minutes before putting on the iron, they'll thicken up to the right cosistency. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau September 20, 2014
Nutty Honey Oatmeal Waffles