16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My kids said these were an excellent muffin. I used 1 1/4 cup of sugar and added milk chocolate chips. I soured my milk with the vinegar as suggested. These made 18 muffins and they all wanted them in their lunch the next day. I was feeling a little lazy when I made these, so as another reviewer suggested, I just added my eggs in without separating. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada April 02, 2008

We followed the recipe exactly and our muffins came out moist and very sweet. Great with a pat of butter! Thank you for a nice treat! Made for AZ/NZ swap Feb. 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 01, 2009

Absolutely wonderful muffins! Took your suggestion and added in about 1 1/4 cup sugar and it was perfect for us. Couldn't get hold of buttermilk, again followed your suggestion. I made half as is and the rest on DD's request, added in some chocolate chips. And to the streusel topping, I added in some chopped almonds. DH's comment, "This isn't your regular banana muffin recipe, is it?"!! Got thumbs up from all! Thank you, Gerry, for sharing another one of your wonderful recipes, this one is a keeper too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum November 20, 2008

These looked as good as they tasted! GREAT! I did add 1 c. walnuts in the muffin mix, as we love them. I might try some pecans next time for something different. These will certainly be made here again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen In The Kitchen! September 25, 2008

These are fantastic muffins!!! I followed the recipe exactly. Very well written and easy to follow! My family give these muffins a big 5 stars!!!! Thanks Gerry!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks July 10, 2008

A good recipe can be gauged on how many bowls get dirtied. Five stars for that and superb taste. Didn't change a thing, and wouldn't suggest otherwise. The best banana muffins yet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers April 08, 2008

Very good I made these while my husband was shovelling snow. I had hot coffee and these muffins waiting for him. Thank you for a nice treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigbadbrenda March 09, 2008

A light and delicious Banana Muffin. I went with the suggested 1 1/4 cups of sugar (this was perfect in my opinion) Perfect for the lunchbox, with a cuppa or even as a breakfast treat. Thanks for sharing Gerry...it's a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie March 07, 2008

This recipe takes a little more effort than most recipes but its well worth it! The muffins were very light & full of flavour. I used an ice cream scoop for uniformity filling my cups to the top - got 14 good sized muffins. As you can see by the photo, I didn't top with streusel but I didn't miss it. Editted on Oct 29th, 2007: I made another batch yesterday and doubled the topping; there's not many left - need I say more? Thanx Gerry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady October 29, 2007

Gotta give 'em 5 stars - my kids have spoken! My DD has been bugging me for banana bread but I wanted to make muffins thinking I could freeze those that didn't get eaten - yeah right. I got about 16 muffins out of this recipe - which is barely lasting a week. Both kids have been eating them for breakfast and wanted to take to school for a snack since they are "healthy" (I didn't make the streusel topping but it really wasn't needed). They were very light and fluffy. I will be making these again (and again and again and again!).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn October 19, 2007
Old Fashioned Banana Muffins