Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Old Fashioned Banana Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Old Fashioned Banana Muffins

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2008

      My kids said these were an excellent muffin. I used 1 1/4 cup of sugar and added milk chocolate chips. I soured my milk with the vinegar as suggested. These made 18 muffins and they all wanted them in their lunch the next day. I was feeling a little lazy when I made these, so as another reviewer suggested, I just added my eggs in without separating. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      We followed the recipe exactly and our muffins came out moist and very sweet. Great with a pat of butter! Thank you for a nice treat! Made for AZ/NZ swap Feb. 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful muffins! Took your suggestion and added in about 1 1/4 cup sugar and it was perfect for us. Couldn't get hold of buttermilk, again followed your suggestion. I made half as is and the rest on DD's request, added in some chocolate chips. And to the streusel topping, I added in some chopped almonds. DH's comment, "This isn't your regular banana muffin recipe, is it?"!! Got thumbs up from all! Thank you, Gerry, for sharing another one of your wonderful recipes, this one is a keeper too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      These looked as good as they tasted! GREAT! I did add 1 c. walnuts in the muffin mix, as we love them. I might try some pecans next time for something different. These will certainly be made here again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      These are fantastic muffins!!! I followed the recipe exactly. Very well written and easy to follow! My family give these muffins a big 5 stars!!!! Thanks Gerry!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      A good recipe can be gauged on how many bowls get dirtied. Five stars for that and superb taste. Didn't change a thing, and wouldn't suggest otherwise. The best banana muffins yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      Very good I made these while my husband was shovelling snow. I had hot coffee and these muffins waiting for him. Thank you for a nice treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      A light and delicious Banana Muffin. I went with the suggested 1 1/4 cups of sugar (this was perfect in my opinion) Perfect for the lunchbox, with a cuppa or even as a breakfast treat. Thanks for sharing Gerry...it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      This recipe takes a little more effort than most recipes but its well worth it! The muffins were very light & full of flavour. I used an ice cream scoop for uniformity filling my cups to the top - got 14 good sized muffins. As you can see by the photo, I didn't top with streusel but I didn't miss it. Editted on Oct 29th, 2007: I made another batch yesterday and doubled the topping; there's not many left - need I say more? Thanx Gerry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Gotta give 'em 5 stars - my kids have spoken! My DD has been bugging me for banana bread but I wanted to make muffins thinking I could freeze those that didn't get eaten - yeah right. I got about 16 muffins out of this recipe - which is barely lasting a week. Both kids have been eating them for breakfast and wanted to take to school for a snack since they are "healthy" (I didn't make the streusel topping but it really wasn't needed). They were very light and fluffy. I will be making these again (and again and again and again!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Gerry, these are WONDERFUL! The key is the beaten egg whites (which I also do for my "Light as a Feather" banana bread)which ensure that the texture has nice height and springiness. I omitted the streusel and added a some choc. chips to some of them for the kids. I used your recommended amount of 1 1/4 brown sugar and 2 1/4 bananas. This will be my favored banana muffin recipe from now on. Thanks Gerry! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2006

      These muffind were great! I was very happy to see a banana muffin recipe that didn't call for nuts. My family snatched them up quickly. I'll be making them the next time I have a few over ripe bananas, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      Very nice muffin made exactly as written except I did not separate the eggs just added them it and they still came out light. Made as mini muffins and my husband and one son loved them, the other two children are not banana lovers. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2005

      This is a wonderful recipe. I baked them in the loaf shaped muffin tins. They had nice height to them,very moist. and just a excellent muffin all around. I baked them for 27 minutes but this muffin tin is a bit larger. the yield was 12 muffins.I will be making many more batches to freeze to take to the cottage. They will be great for breakfast or to snak on at anytime. Thank-you Gerry for another great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      i like a just plain banana recipe and this one is thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      An excellent tasting muffin -- very moist. I loved the streusel topping. I will certainly make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Old Fashioned Banana Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (66 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.5
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    30%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 40.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 288.3 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 22.0 g
    88%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes