Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Omelets in a Bag Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Omelets in a Bag

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2010

      There's quite a bit of info available on the internet about the possible dangers of this cooking method since plastic leaches chemicals at high heat levels, and these bags were not made for boiling. Even the manufacturer cautions against it. Just do a google search for "bag omelet leach." I am no expert myself, but I hope the readers will do a little research and make an informed decision for themselves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      The Ziploc company, SC Johnson, does not reccomend this cooking technique using thier products. Please research this cooking style prior to using to make an informed decision.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Polyphenols are naturally occurring anti-oxidants typically found in all plants and are generally regarded as extremely healthful and thought to decrease the risk of many cancers. It is sometimes so humorous when those of the public with virtually no chemical training seem to think anything with a chemical name is automatically harmful. That, and the fact there are virtually NO polyphenols present in polyethylene bags. Don't jump from the frying pan into the fire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      Everyone, the purpose of this site is not to debate the tools, but the recipe. However, to dispell the rumors, there is no warning on the Zip loc or SC Johnson site regarding heating their bags. Nor has there ever been. In fact most of them state they are microwave safe. As a chemist, I can tell you there are far more things for you to worry yourselves with every day than that. [You would be shocked to know the carcinogens you inhale on your drive to work each day]. So just make your little eggs and enjoy. As for the recipe, thank you Susan, it worked like a charm! How great that you can serve 6 people exactly what they want at the same time! We will be using this idea from now on when our whole family of 12-14 get together. Yay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      My parents had a house full, so my mom made these. She cut up all the veggies, bacon, ham, sausage the day before. Everyone put what they wanted in their bag (labeled with their name) and Mom cooked them. Everyone ended up with thier perfect omelet at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      We make these all the time when we go to the cabin (that has no electricity). We boil the pot of water over the campfire and "presto"... breakfast is served! I just take along baggies full of chopped up, sauteed veggies & pre-cooked meats (its easier to do this at home, before we leave to go camping), then everyone can just grab a handful of their favorite ingredients. (This is great also for the fact that the grandkids are quite fussy)!

      I say to the plastic baggie worry-warts... "You only live once! If a plastic bag is gonna be my demise, then so be it!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Whats with the water. NO, NO, NO. You do not need the pan and water. Just put every thing in the bag and put in the Micro. This is done in less than 1 1/2 minits. I have done this for years and it has never let me down. Whats this ten minite thing. Its a mico not your grandmothers stove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      This actually works great! My FIL did it one day and we all were totally shocked how perfectly the omelets were cooked and how good they are. You have got to try it one morning for something fun to do. Everyone can build their own. We only use Ziplocks too, the small freezer bags. Great fun for a family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I'v made these for a long time. I was taught how to make these in scout training and have taught girl scouts how to do this. Do not use cheap plastic bags as they will bust open. I only use the ziplock brand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      My son's Boy Scout troop makes these all the time on camp outs! The boys love it, its quick and everyone gets what they want. Stop fretting about the plastic! Have some fun! Sometimes too much info is a bad thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      These were great! I think my bags were a little bigger than quart sized, so I added an extra egg in each bag. I mixed them up with cheese, salt, and tomatoes. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      I've made these before and they are great. Foodsaver bags ARE safe to boil if you have a machine handy and would rather avoid Ziploc bags. Just fill your bag, lightly press out any excess air and seal. Don't use the vacuum feature of your machine. They work great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Actually it IS humorous when those with no chem knowledge speak. Polyphelnols are wonderful chemicals. Bis phenol is not. Don't boil bags!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      WOW!!! What a fun recipe!! I used all the ingredients listed but did do it a little different. I put the onion in a small dish, along with a dab of butter, and microwaved them for a minute to soften the onion. I then followed the recipe as written. After cooking for 13 minutes, I took it out and it seemed done until I slid it onto the plate and alot of liquid oozed out. I then put it back in the bag and in the pan for another 5 minutes and it was perfect. I just loved all the flavors and texture, as well as nothing to really clean up, what a bonus!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for PAC Fall 09!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      I loved this one!!!! So easy and no clean-up. I used turkey bacon and added some diced red pepper. I cooked mine 15-20 minutes. I wanted to make sure it was done and it was. Am making this again and again and again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Thanks a ton for posting this! When I was a little girl my dad and I would go camping, and he would cook omelets for breakfast. He passed away 15 years ago and I could not remember exactly how he did it. And this is it! I remembered the baggy part, but I forgot about the water, and I knew you just didn't put the bag in the pan. LOL! Thanks again for refreshing my memory. This is the only way to cook an omelet. They're perfect every time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2013

      Easy, no-clean-up, and the eggs come out super fluffy. I use two eggs in a snack-sized bag rather than a quart. I make plain eggs (when I do ingredients, they all sort of float to one side).<br/>I understand about the dangers of cooking. One could always use foodsaver bags,which are acceptable for hot-water cooking. You could even make them in bulk and freeze them, then just defrost and cook as needed.<br/>I worked in a hospital for a while, and the scrambled eggs were frozen in large plastic bags, which were boiled just like this homemade recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Eggs + Boiling Water + Time = Omelets in a Bag. Made especially 'with' my partner in cookin'...the grandbabe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Omelets in a Bag

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 296.2
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    56%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 408.2 mg
    136%
    Sodium 1101.3 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites