17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love when you can get a wonderful tasting muffin while using healthier ingredients. This muffin recipe is a winner. I loved the moistness of the muffins and the flavors were perfect. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood October 25, 2010

These are such a welcome trea this time of year using winter pears. I didn't bother pealing the pears either. Left the delicious brown skins right on. I also used coarsely chopped toasted almonds in place of the walnuts. I got 12 nice size muffins. I like using just 2 T. of oil too. Makes em a little more LF than a normal muffin and the vanilla yogurt was a welcome addition for perfect moistness. Made in memory of Sharon's DH in KK's forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB October 21, 2010

My boss has a pear tree. He brought in a bushel of pears to the office. I brought a dozen home. I ate a few of them and it wasn't until I found this recipe that I figured out what to do with some of the other pears. I doubled the batch & used the vanilla yogurt. They are fantastic. I froze some so they would not disappear immediately.The most moist & delicious muffins ever.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baton Twirling October 11, 2010

These are, without a doubt, the best pear muffins my DH and I have ever had!! They're moist and flavorful and almost melt in your mouth! And when they're baking, the whole house smells wonderful! I scaled the recipe down to 7.5 muffins (because we only had one pear); and used whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose and whole wheat flours, and sodium-free baking powder in place of the regular kind--and all of that worked out fine. I've been searching for years for a great pear muffin/bread recipe, and this is definitely it (a copy is now in my best of the best cookbook--to be made and enjoyed again!)! Thanks so much for posting it, Sharon123!! (Tagged, made, and reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC Game.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal February 16, 2010

Very good muffins! Good flavor, very moist (maybe a wee bit too moist?). Like other reviewers, I made 12 muffins from this recipe. Word to the wise: Be sure and take them out of the pans immediately. I somehow missed that step, and by the time I removed them from the pans a few minutes later, the outsides were a bit soggy. So, I just put them on the cooling rack, and popped them back into the oven for a few minutes to dry them out a bit. Alterations: I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup white flour. Whenever using more whole wheat flour than white flour, I add a bit of high gluten flour to prevent it from having that "heavy" texture. (Whole wheat flour does not have as much gluten as white flour.) I also ran all the dry ingredients through the sifter, since this generally makes things more fluffy. The only other change I made was to use some slightly coarse sugar for the topping, instead of regular granulated sugar. When I inverted the cooked muffins onto a cooling rack, they lost some of the topping. Next time, it think I'll try pulling them straight up out of the pans and hopefully they won't lose as much of the yummy topping that way. (The topping is pretty strong tasting, by the way, but not overpowering unless you take a bite of mostly topping.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachelRoo December 01, 2009

Fantastic muffins! We loved the spice combination for the topping. It just made them. So moist and lovely. Thanks for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn November 16, 2009

Just HOW good are these muffins? Within 5 minutes of my reading the recipe, I was in the kitchen making them. And, within 30 minutes of them coming out of the oven, 100% of them were gone! It's rare that I have all of the ingredients to make something this different but I was stocked up on pears and pecans from another project. Personally, I refuse to use oil in my recipes so I subbed the standard "1/4 cup melted butter" for the 2 T oil, which made up for the liquid missing when I used a 6 ounce container of yogurt. And PLEASE...do yourself a favour and use Yoplait's PEAR YOGURT in this recipe!!! It really amps up the flavour! My batter made exactly 12 muffins and my family has begged me to make more of them today. How can you turn down a request like that! Superb texture, amazing taste; this recipe goes BEYOND 5 Stars, straight into the Food Galaxy!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef October 31, 2009

These were moist and delicious. I added another 1/2 cup of flour since I didn't add the finely processed walnuts. I added the cinnamon and ginger and some chopped nuts to the batter instead of on top. The muffins had such a nice texture and flavor and I'm sure to make them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jean October 16, 2009

I made these a few weeks ago and forgot to rate them! They were delicious and SO moist! I think I need to chop my pears a little smaller (or cook the muffins longer) as they were almost TOO moist! These would probably freeze very well :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just the 2 of us May 08, 2009

Delicious! I had pears to use and I chose this recipe because it seems to be the healthiest pear recipe on Zaar. I didn't grind the walnuts b/c I like them chunky. I also did like the other reviewer and used 1/3 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and lowfat vanilla yogurt. Great flavors, very moist and healthy for muffins! I will absolutely use this recipe again. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk February 06, 2009
Pear and Walnut Muffins