Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Pear and Walnut Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear and Walnut Muffins

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2010

      I love when you can get a wonderful tasting muffin while using healthier ingredients. This muffin recipe is a winner. I loved the moistness of the muffins and the flavors were perfect. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      These are such a welcome trea this time of year using winter pears. I didn't bother pealing the pears either. Left the delicious brown skins right on. I also used coarsely chopped toasted almonds in place of the walnuts. I got 12 nice size muffins. I like using just 2 T. of oil too. Makes em a little more LF than a normal muffin and the vanilla yogurt was a welcome addition for perfect moistness. Made in memory of Sharon's DH in KK's forum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      My boss has a pear tree. He brought in a bushel of pears to the office. I brought a dozen home. I ate a few of them and it wasn't until I found this recipe that I figured out what to do with some of the other pears. I doubled the batch & used the vanilla yogurt. They are fantastic. I froze some so they would not disappear immediately.The most moist & delicious muffins ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      These are, without a doubt, the best pear muffins my DH and I have ever had!! They're moist and flavorful and almost melt in your mouth! And when they're baking, the whole house smells wonderful! I scaled the recipe down to 7.5 muffins (because we only had one pear); and used whole wheat pastry flour for the all-purpose and whole wheat flours, and sodium-free baking powder in place of the regular kind--and all of that worked out fine. I've been searching for years for a great pear muffin/bread recipe, and this is definitely it (a copy is now in my best of the best cookbook--to be made and enjoyed again!)! Thanks so much for posting it, Sharon123!! (Tagged, made, and reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC Game.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Very good muffins! Good flavor, very moist (maybe a wee bit too moist?). Like other reviewers, I made 12 muffins from this recipe. Word to the wise: Be sure and take them out of the pans immediately. I somehow missed that step, and by the time I removed them from the pans a few minutes later, the outsides were a bit soggy. So, I just put them on the cooling rack, and popped them back into the oven for a few minutes to dry them out a bit. Alterations: I used 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 cup white flour. Whenever using more whole wheat flour than white flour, I add a bit of high gluten flour to prevent it from having that "heavy" texture. (Whole wheat flour does not have as much gluten as white flour.) I also ran all the dry ingredients through the sifter, since this generally makes things more fluffy. The only other change I made was to use some slightly coarse sugar for the topping, instead of regular granulated sugar. When I inverted the cooked muffins onto a cooling rack, they lost some of the topping. Next time, it think I'll try pulling them straight up out of the pans and hopefully they won't lose as much of the yummy topping that way. (The topping is pretty strong tasting, by the way, but not overpowering unless you take a bite of mostly topping.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Fantastic muffins! We loved the spice combination for the topping. It just made them. So moist and lovely. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Just HOW good are these muffins? Within 5 minutes of my reading the recipe, I was in the kitchen making them. And, within 30 minutes of them coming out of the oven, 100% of them were gone! It's rare that I have all of the ingredients to make something this different but I was stocked up on pears and pecans from another project. Personally, I refuse to use oil in my recipes so I subbed the standard "1/4 cup melted butter" for the 2 T oil, which made up for the liquid missing when I used a 6 ounce container of yogurt. And PLEASE...do yourself a favour and use Yoplait's PEAR YOGURT in this recipe!!! It really amps up the flavour! My batter made exactly 12 muffins and my family has begged me to make more of them today. How can you turn down a request like that! Superb texture, amazing taste; this recipe goes BEYOND 5 Stars, straight into the Food Galaxy!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      These were moist and delicious. I added another 1/2 cup of flour since I didn't add the finely processed walnuts. I added the cinnamon and ginger and some chopped nuts to the batter instead of on top. The muffins had such a nice texture and flavor and I'm sure to make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      I made these a few weeks ago and forgot to rate them! They were delicious and SO moist! I think I need to chop my pears a little smaller (or cook the muffins longer) as they were almost TOO moist! These would probably freeze very well :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Delicious! I had pears to use and I chose this recipe because it seems to be the healthiest pear recipe on Zaar. I didn't grind the walnuts b/c I like them chunky. I also did like the other reviewer and used 1/3 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and lowfat vanilla yogurt. Great flavors, very moist and healthy for muffins! I will absolutely use this recipe again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These were great! Mine turned out incredibly moist and the combination of pear and walnut went really well together...although actually I used half walnut and half ground almonds as I didn't have enough walnuts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      The family gave these 5 stars! Nice and flavorful and not overly sweet. I used vanilla yogurt and added the spices to the batter and on top. I love that the walnuts are ground. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      These are wonderful! I also used 1/3 cup Splenda and 1/3 cup brown sugar (and Splenda for the topping). The pear flavor really comes through because the spices are on top of, not in, the muffins. I might also try not grinding the walnuts next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      DE-LISH!!!!! These muffins are a great way to use those Harry & David pears hanging around from the holidays. Because I ate too many cookies for Christmas, I need to drop the two pounds I gained so I made some substitutions. Instead of brown sugar I used Splenda brown sugar blend (5 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon). Instead of yogurt, non-fat yogurt. Instead of vegetable oil, Enova. Instead of sugar, Splenda granular. I do not typically like to compromise taste in my recipes and all these substitutions worked really well. The muffins were very moist,flavorful, and had good texture. I think a lot of the sweetness and flavor come from using really ripe pears. Next time, I don't think I'm going to ground the walnuts but use coarsely ground nuts for a little crunch. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      Oh man, these are SO good! I did change the 2/3 cup of brown sugar into 1/3 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, used diet vanilla yogurt (it's what I had) and the egg became 1/4 cup of Eggbeaters. The small Anjou pears I had made barely 1 cup but it still gave a good flavor. They were perfect at 20 mins, well baked and golden. I tagged and made these on a whim this morning for the 1-2-3 game and I'm so glad I did. They are delightful. Oh yes, for the topping I used Splenda, cinnamon and ginger.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      LOVED these muffins! Super easy to make and less fat than regular muffins but they're also very moist with a lot of flavor. I made an even dozen instead of fifteen and they got nice big crispy tops from the extra batter. I didn't have whole wheat flour so I used all regular flour with no problems. My husband and two-year-old daughter gobbled them up - they're already gone. These are now in my "favorite recipe" file!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      These muffins are great with the walnuts and pear. I'll have to try them with ground almonds. It will be delicious also I'm sure. I used only 1/3 cup of brown sugar. Thanks Sharon :) Made for I Recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear and Walnut Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (968 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 147.5
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    32%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 14.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 171.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 12.8 g
    51%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites