Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Potato and Onion Tortilla Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato and Onion Tortilla

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      A simple recipe with great possibilities. I added cooked breakfast sausage. First, I put sour cream, salsa, jalapenos and mozzarella cheese on spinach tortillas. Then I added the potato mixture and rolled them up. Delicious and easy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      With the addition of salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder in the egg/potato mixture before it cooks, this is a 4. I cooked the onions with the potatoes, and am glad I did. Next time I might cook the onions for a few minutes before adding the potatoes so that they end up caramalizing. Make sure the pan is clean before putting the egg/potato mixture in-- if you do this, and use enough oil, even with a regular stainless steel pan you can get it to come out all in one nice piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      With only four ingredients I was a little worried how this would taste once I plated it. However, the flavors really shine through simply and beautifully. I'm still not sure the point of adding the mostly cooked potatoes to the egg mixture and letting it sit for ten minutes but I did it this time. Not sure that I will do it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      My husband loved this. I think I went awry somewhere though because not all of the potatoes were cooked thoroughly. We added red bell pepper, broccoli, green onions, and soy cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      We enjoyed this dish with scones the other night. I had to make a few changes, as we only had 4 eggs. I put some more potatoes in the recipe because we ate it as the main dish. This resulted in a nice dish, but we would have preferred it with more egg. It took a lot longer to cook because of the extra potatoes. The flavour was quite nice, but also quite mild- I would add a couple more flavours next time. Made for the Genies of Gourmet ZWT5- thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      What a versatile dish. I made this as a side dish for dinner and can't wait until breakfast to have leftovers. I threw some grated cheddar cheese on top to melt and used Montreal Steak seasoning in it. Next time I will use some fresh thyme. Thanks for posting diner524. Made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      WOW! Yummy! :) I was intrigued by the different steps involved in making this and followed that part of the recipe exactly but, as someone who's not good at following recipes exactly, I did have to add a few ingredients - that's surely one of the joys of a recipe with few ingredients, the scope it offers for adding one's own favourite ingredients. I added sliced mushrooms, minced garlic and rosemary, sage and thyme and some freshly ground black pepper. My rosemary and sage blend had salt in it. We thoroughly enjoyed this dish with Roasted Bell Peppers Grilled and it's one I'll certainly be making again. Thank you for sharing it, diner524. Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      The simple recipes really are the best, aren't they? I made this for a drinks and nibbles party and cut this into cubes, and it was very popular. Very simple to cook and easy to follow instructions. Thanks for sharing - made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This recipe was so easy & was just a delicious comfort food for breakfast. I had potatoes I wanted to use & did a search for potato breakfast recipes. I also had 1/2 each red & green bell pepper. The spices I added were a 1/2 teaspoon of marjoram & 1/2 teaspoon of celery salt. Plus a dash of fine ground sea salt & fresh ground black pepper to taste. I topped half with cheese for the two in the family that can eat it. It made a very pretty presentation & was very easy to cut into wedges for serving. We were pleasantly surprised that for being mostly potatos the flavor was very good. Thanks for posting, diner! I'll be making this one again in the future. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Very simple and tasty dinner on a busy night. I, too, couldn't resist adding in the cheese. Added a few grinds of garlic/pepper blend and some mushrooms I had on hand. Really nice! Made for ZWT family pick, Daffy Daffodils

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      This makes a nice tasty simple breakfast. I had to make a few changes to the method to make sure it came out well for me. I parboiled the potatoes before stir frying. Also I always have trouble getting eggs to set in dishes like this so I put in under the broiler with some cheese on top to finish it. Will definitely make it again with other variations. The bell peppers sounds like a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Loved it.. the cooking method is a little different to your other recipe and for some reason I couldn't manage to turn it over without it breaking up completely, so it was slightly messier looking but the taste was still fine. I used far less olive oil as I have a brand new non-stick pan and a smidge of salt and pepper and about 2 tablespoons of Italian herbs, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Please see my rating system: an excellent 4 stars for a very tasty recipe. Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Very good,we had this for dinner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Delicious! I added mushrooms and fried the mushrooms and onions with the potatoes. I did use seasonings - that's a plus! Will make this again and again. Thank you. ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This was good! I suggest that you Flip the omelette over onto a large plate, then slide it back into the pan after 15 minutes of cooking. Brown the underside for a minute or two. Then remove the pan from the heat and leave to rest for a few minutes. Or bake in oven for throughour cooking. I added cheese to the top of mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato and Onion Tortilla

    Serving Size: 1 (199 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 481.2
     
    Calories from Fat 311
    64%
    Total Fat 34.6 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 317.2 mg
    105%
    Sodium 115.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes