11 Reviews

Great oatmeal! Nutritious and filling. No need for added sweetner! I used quick cooking oats, so only needed 2 min. cook time in the microwave. I enjoyed the flavor combos!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 11, 2011

Very quick for a power packed nutritious breakfast. I made on the stovetop, as written, except for adding some honey. My protein powder is plain, so like other reviewers added a touch of vanilla. Considering this is made with water, it's quite creamy....although next time I'd probably do half soy milk, half water. Like the blueberry cinnamon combo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 28, 2011

Omg I love this recipe. I think I have made it like 5 days in a row so far and I love it because I put my vanilla protein powder in it!!!!! I will never get tired of this tasty oatmeal ==^.^==

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauraischill March 03, 2011

I made mine on the stove top, using steal cut oats. I heard that you were to add flax seed at the end of cooking to retain its nutrition. So I added my own ground flax seed, when it was done cooking. My son has protein powder so I sneaked some of his to use for the recipe. I also used a little Splenda and 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Made for *ZWT 6* I'm on Team *Ya Ya Cookerhood*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 06, 2010

I made this as directed using frozen berries and, since the protein powder was not flavoured, added a bit of vanilla. I also added a bit of Splenda for some sweetness. Thanks for a tasty and healthy start to the day. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario June 16, 2009

I made this but in a bit of a smaller amount, and a little bit of ground flaxseed instead of the meal, as well as some honey for sweetness. I also altered the cooking to my own preferance. Very yummy! Very creamy. I Used milk instead of water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Can't Believe It's Healthy March 26, 2009

I made this exactly as posted, except I only had plain protein powder, so I added some vanilla extract for sweetness. I used fresh blueberries, as well. I am not a big breakfast person during the week, but I know how important it is, so I felt like I was really doing something good for myself. It is also nice and quick, and pretty tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! March 17, 2009

Be sure to use a largish bowl to make this, as the oatmeal does bubble up. I made this both with and without the protein powder (not something I usually have), and both versions were good. I still prefer steel-cut oats, but when you don't have time for those, this is a great alternative. Oh, no fresh berries, so I used a Trader Joe's mix of dried berries, and that was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte January 18, 2009

We (2 of us) like good sized bowls of cereal, so I tripled this recipe & did use partially thawed frozen blueberries! Also used an ample sprinkling of good ol' cinnamon, & in no time at all had A VERY TASTY BREAKFAST! Thanks, much for brightening up our day ~ Your recipe is a definite keeper! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 26, 2008

Lovely brekkie. Tasty and easy to make. I used more cinnamon per personal taste and frozen berries because thats what I had. They worked perfectly. It was a very berry brekkie with blueberry cream coffee. Thanks Brook :D.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 18, 2008
Power Oatmeal With Blueberries and Flax