Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Purple Oatmeal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Purple Oatmeal

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2012

      I'm a bit of a sweet tooth so this was just okay for me, a bit too bland until I stirred through some vanilla yoghurt to sweeten and add more flavour. I usually cook my oats in milk & I think I'll be sticking to that method as the water doesn't really give it the creamy texture I'm used to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      I used fresh blueberries and they didn't "pop" and turn the oatmeal purple. The second time I tried adding them early, when the water was boiling and they still remained whole. I crushed them with a potato/avocado masher which worked great, and also added brown sugar near the end to melt in, since the fresh blueberries were a little tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      I reduced this to make 2 servings for DH and me this morning. What is not to like? Each serving was topped off with a touch of brown sugar. A hearty, healthy breakfast treat. Made for *Aussie Swap*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This was really good - the flavors are really harmonious together. I used about half the nutmeg and cinnamon, had to sub regular oatmeal, and left the flax seeds out since I didn't have any. I agree with others - the lemon zest really makes this special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      very good, you might want to start light with the nutmeg and add more if you want it. nutmeg is very strong. alternate- try it cold mixed with cottage cheese and pineapple, yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Yum! I toasted the walnuts and added a little agave syrup on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      It is really good. We made it all last winter and I just forgot to post my review. Now that the winter months are here again, it seems I am back to this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I forgot to add the walnuts!! Even so this is really lovely. I had to use rolled oats and didn't have flax seed but the lemon, nutmeg and cinnamon really elevates this above the norm. Using the rolled oats mine cooked up very quickly and made a wonderful winter morning breakfast. It's amazing what just a touch of lemon can do and it really does remind you of a blueberry muffin. Thank you very much Bethie for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Oh my GOSH!!!! This is FANTASTIC!!! Tastes a lot like a blueberry muffin in the form of oatmeal! I halfed the recipe because only 4 of us were eating it - my parents don't eat breakfast and my brother for some reason didn't want to try it. I've made this type of thing before. Almost idental recipes, but no flax seeds or lemon zest in mine. I didn't use flax seeds in the recipe today - we didn't have it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breakfast Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Purple Oatmeal

    Serving Size: 1 (1754 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.4
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    37%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites