9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm a bit of a sweet tooth so this was just okay for me, a bit too bland until I stirred through some vanilla yoghurt to sweeten and add more flavour. I usually cook my oats in milk & I think I'll be sticking to that method as the water doesn't really give it the creamy texture I'm used to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** May 31, 2012

I used fresh blueberries and they didn't "pop" and turn the oatmeal purple. The second time I tried adding them early, when the water was boiling and they still remained whole. I crushed them with a potato/avocado masher which worked great, and also added brown sugar near the end to melt in, since the fresh blueberries were a little tart.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen December 17, 2009

I reduced this to make 2 servings for DH and me this morning. What is not to like? Each serving was topped off with a touch of brown sugar. A hearty, healthy breakfast treat. Made for *Aussie Swap*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG October 02, 2009

This was really good - the flavors are really harmonious together. I used about half the nutmeg and cinnamon, had to sub regular oatmeal, and left the flax seeds out since I didn't have any. I agree with others - the lemon zest really makes this special.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 10, 2009

very good, you might want to start light with the nutmeg and add more if you want it. nutmeg is very strong. alternate- try it cold mixed with cottage cheese and pineapple, yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimcooking March 04, 2009

Yum! I toasted the walnuts and added a little agave syrup on top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO December 03, 2008

It is really good. We made it all last winter and I just forgot to post my review. Now that the winter months are here again, it seems I am back to this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plumshadow October 08, 2008

I forgot to add the walnuts!! Even so this is really lovely. I had to use rolled oats and didn't have flax seed but the lemon, nutmeg and cinnamon really elevates this above the norm. Using the rolled oats mine cooked up very quickly and made a wonderful winter morning breakfast. It's amazing what just a touch of lemon can do and it really does remind you of a blueberry muffin. Thank you very much Bethie for this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 17, 2008

Oh my GOSH!!!! This is FANTASTIC!!! Tastes a lot like a blueberry muffin in the form of oatmeal! I halfed the recipe because only 4 of us were eating it - my parents don't eat breakfast and my brother for some reason didn't want to try it. I've made this type of thing before. Almost idental recipes, but no flax seeds or lemon zest in mine. I didn't use flax seeds in the recipe today - we didn't have it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita January 06, 2008
Purple Oatmeal