Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Rustic Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rustic Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2012

      I had actually made another cinnamon raisin bread on the web site and thought it was good but I liked the wheat flour in this one. I didn't read your comments, Brooke, until after I had my loaf raising but I used active dry yeast and mixed it with the flour. I did not get a high rising loaf but that is all right with me. I very much like taste, texture and weight of this bread. I think the next time I make it, I will proof my yeast and see if it changes anything but I liked it the way it was pretty well. Also, I do not have a heavy duty mixer so I mixed it by hand. Possibly mixing it with the mixer might break down the oatmeal a bit more but I really liked it the way it was. I've never thought of a cinnamon raisin loaf as good with sandwiches but this does really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Yummy. I used steel cut oats and golden raisins. Next time I will dig in the pantry and find the dark raisins or use a combination. I doubled the recipe and got 3 nice sized loaves. I thought about adding the swirl as other reviewers did but I am lazy and didn't. This bread is really delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Fabulous loaf of wheat & cinnamon bread! I absolutely love it, Brooke! I threw this in the breadmaker, including the raisins (oops!) and then added a swirl per Bayhill's review. This recipe yields a gorgeous loaf that was busting out of my 9x5" pan! This will be my go-to loaf from now on for a healthy cinnamon raisin bread... only I'll remember to put the raisins in late, and will increase the ingredients in the swirl, so it will be more pronounced! I did use dark maple syrup (Canadian Dark) for more pronounced maple flavour, and it was real maple syrup, not sugar free, too. Thanks, Brooke, for a fantastic loaf! Made for PRMR Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Very good. I followed the recipe exactly except I also added a cinnamon sugar/butter swirl. It's not a soft raisin bread - it has some nice texture to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I made a few minor changes to this recipe, and it turned out really good, didn't have sugar-free maple syrup so I used the regular and reduced the honey to 2 tablespoons, used all purpose flour and increased the yeast to 1 tablespoons for a quicker rise, thanks Brooke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This is a wonderful and healthy bread recipe. I loved the crustiness on the outside of the bread and the lovely cinnamon flavoring. I chose to make 2 smaller loaves. The bread was rather dense, but still delicious. Next time, I might let the bread rise longer than the 2 90 min. sessions. Thanks for the healthful and yummy bread! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      You have a great recipe here, Brooke! Several things I especially like about this ~ the use of honey & whole wheat flour, &, of course, the raisins! Had no trouble at all with any of the preparation, but I will tell you that another time I'll be including some of Bayhill's tips (like the GREAT cinnamon swirl)! Thanks for a keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Every Day Is a Holiday cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Delicious! We loved this hearty, chewy cinnamon raisin bread. The flavor and the texture of this bread was outstanding. I had to use regular maple syrup as I didn't have the sugar-free, and the sweetness of the loaf was perfect. Also, I added 3 TBSP. wheat gluten to help with the volume of the bread (this is something I always do when using whole-grain flours or cereals in yeast bread). My family prefers to have a cinnamon swirl in their raisin bread, so after the 1st rising, I rolled out the dough to a 16"x10" rectangle. I spread some melted butter over the dough and sprinkled the dough evenly with a mixture of cinnamon/sugar. Starting with the 10" side, I rolled the dough up into a loaf shape and sealed the seam by pinching it. I put it in a 9"x5" loaf pan and baked it for about 40 mins. My family loved this bread and gave it 2 huge thumbs up. Brooke, you have a definite winner here. I will be making this often. Thank you for sharing! *Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      A nice bread. Not as much of a cinnamon taste as I expected but just the right amount of sweetness. Biggest drawback was the "doughy" taste of the bread. I used active dry yeast that I proofed before adding, and all-purpose flour in lieu of the bread flour. The bread rose nicely and I made a singe big loaf. Put together entirely in the KA, the dough came together well with a very good consistency and I had high hopes for it. I liked this recipe, just not as much as I'd hoped. ~Buddha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      Five enthusiastic stars! Fabulous combination of really healthy and really delicious! I had no difficulty with the dough rising and ended up with one lovely fat loaf. I followed Brooke's instructions to the letter except (LOL) I used pure maple syrup, not sugar free. I used Irish steel cut oats and they really gave a great texture and flavor to the bread--it's amazing how different (and to my mind better) they are than rolled oats. I also used a combination of golden and dark raisins and plumped them in warm water before kneading them in. We've all had a slice off the end and love it. We are all looking forward to having some toasted with sweet butter and/or cream cheese in the morning. Thanks so much, Brooke!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      This was a lovely bread! It had the right amount of sweetness to it. The bread had just a bit of a dense texture (guess it was the oatmeal?? or was it just me?!?).. which was very nice! But I do have to point out that the dough took about 2 hours to rise both times even though I had the heater on in the kitchen and it was kept in a warm place. We really enjoyed it. Thank you, Brooke! I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      This recipe just didn't work. The dough never rose to the point where I could bake it. I let the dough rise for and almost 2 hours the first time and it maybe increased by half. The second took even longer and maybe rose a third. I used a thermometer to make sure everything was the correct temp. and I had a nice warm room for it to rise in. I double checked my yeast to make sure it was fresh and it proofed quite nicely. Since the other person who made this said it took an hour and half for each rise instead of the 45- 60 minutes stated in the recipe - I wonder if the portion of yeast to flour is off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      I did this all by hand with no real problems except the dough was super sticky for me so I added quite a bit more flour. Since my kitchen was cold I think it took a lot longer to rise for me. It took about 1 1/2 for both rises for me. I really like the sweetness the syrup gives to this loaf. Got a big thumbs up from the mother! Only took about 30 minutes to bake for me since I made three small loafs out of it. A def. make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rustic Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 162.1
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    10%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 148.0 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sugar-free maple syrup

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites