28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was delicious! We used chopped grape tomatoes, fresh tarragon and fresh Thai basil. I highly recommend the tarragon - the flavor was perfect. We also substituted fat-free sour cream for the creme fraiche. Made for ZWT8 Family Picks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D September 14, 2012

I simply went out into my herb garden and grabbed a little parsley, thyme, blue sage, and rosemary and tossed it in the pan with the other ingredients. Nice fluffly eggs. I also used tomatoes from my garden so it was nice to use my garden for once. I will definitely keep this recipe in mind when I make eggs for breakfast. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser July 30, 2012

The dijon mustard works really well in this recipe and I like the fluffy textue from mixing in the egg yolk at the very end. I used fresh parsley and chives; and opted to keep my tomatoes sliced fresh and not cooked in the eggs. Definitely a recipe I will be making again. Made for ZWT8 by Bistro Babes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini July 26, 2012

Made this for breakfast for ZWT 8 the France leg and it was so simple and so good, really enjoyed it. The only change I made was to scale it back for 2. I'll be using this often, loved the herbs and fresh tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 July 21, 2012

I've never had mustard in my eggs before - it went with the tomatoes and herbs perfectly. For the omnomnommers ZWT8 :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel July 20, 2012

I scaled this back for 2 serves and my herb of choice was basil (just love it with tomatoes) and I used light sour cream in place of the creme fraiche and about half the butter and served with wholl/wholegrain toasted bread. We just loved the flavours and what a difference putting in those 2 eggs yolks separately does for the texture of the eggs., loved it. Thank you PanNan and lazyme for the recommendation, made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat May 10, 2011

PanNan, these are awesome eggs. I enjoyed them very much. I really loved the flavor that the dijon mustard imparts, it really enhanced the fresh herbs that I used sage, thyme, rosemary and green scallions. Thank you so much for sharing this creamy treat. Made for Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbooks Tag Game :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 09, 2010

These are crazy good eggs! Mixing the creme fraiche and mustard with the egg yolks and adding toward the end of the cooking time results in very creamy eggs. A very nice technique that I will continue to use. I used chives, thyme and shallot from my garden. I opted to serve my tomatoes (garden fresh, sliced, sprinkled with freshly ground pepper, chives and olive oil) on the side to avoid what others found were soggy eggs. Served this with pan fried new potatoes and onions, sausage patties and cantaloupe. Thank you for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois July 30, 2009

This is a very nice take on scrambled eggs. Very flavourful I used chives, parsley and marjoram since I had it in the garden. I used MarraMamba's method of peeling tomatoes as suggested in her review and it worked like a charm. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario June 29, 2009

fluffy, light, great scrambled eggs. I used tarragon and dill, never missed the cheese i normally add to scrambled eggs and loved the mustard! i discovered an easy way to peel tomatos without blanching them in a pot of boiling water too. Just fill a small bowl full of the hottest tap water you have, sit them in it for 5 - 10 minutes and peel. Works like blanching without needing to boil a pot of water and fuss.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba June 08, 2009
Scrambled Eggs With Fines Herbes and Tomatoes