Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Shirley's Plain or Blueberry Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shirley's Plain or Blueberry Muffins

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2009

      Such an easy muffin recipe,and totally delicious! I made the blueberry version,and they totally went down a storm..my children,especially,ADORED them! This recipe was also really quick to put together,making it ideal for busy people.No need for shop-bought muffins again! I'm looking forward to testing out all of the variations...Linda,my family thanks you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      These were so delicious. I made them with blueberries I froze a few months back. They were moist and definatly moreish! I had 2 with my morning coffee and DH had 3. I will have to try them plain with some butter and raspberry jam. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      We really like these. :-) I did use unsalted butter instead of shortening, and I used two cups of fresh blueberries ... they turned out fabulous, I shall make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      These are really delicious muffins. I have been making them about once a week all winter long, and the kids really love them. DH and I do too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I sat at the kitchen table with my morning cup of coffee and sank my teeth into one of these loaded with butter, and they were the best muffins I have had. I loved the hearty texture and the blueberries were a great addition. Any berries can be substituted and I plan to experiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      So yummy we couldn't stop eating them till they were gone! I will use raspberries when I make them next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      These were excellent! I used fresh blueberries, more than a cup, and 1/2 cup sugar. For shortning used liquid Becel, a butter substitute available here in Denmark, and a little oil. Texture of muffins was like finest cake. I ate 5 of them for breakfast yesterday, our cleaning person ate 2 of them, my non baked goods partner ate 1, and I am eating the last 4 for breakfast as I write this. I am eating with butter on them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Great with blueberries and just as good with raspberries! We added the extra sugar with both to make them sweet enough and they were so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • With fresh blueberries in season its the time of year to enjoy some yummy muffins, and these sure are yummy!! I probably used more than a cup of blueberries, but the more the merrier in my book. Great breakfast for the wife and I!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      These muffins couldn't be any better. I used the 1/2 c. of sugar and it was just the right amount of sweetness for us using fresh blueberries for added goodness! We had them for breakfast with a cup of hot chocolate and DH and I ate 3 of these delicious babies each!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      These muffins are awesome Linda. I used frozen wild strawberries that I picked last summer. These were great muffins tall, crispy, moist tender and oh so flavorful. Truly wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I love my muffins and this one was just what I was looking for. We loved them! I used Crisco shortening, because they make the best muffins. I wouldn't use oil or butter to make these. They won't come out the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Have been looking for a plain muffin recipe that does not call for oil and this fills the bill. Just use your imagination as to add ins. The only difference I make is to use butter (most of the time) rather than shortening because we like the flavor. Thanks for a good basic recipe that everyone should have in their files. Perfect for a beginner baker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      I made plain muffins and they were great with lots of butter and strawberry jam. I will try with blueberries next. Wonderful muffins!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      I made blueberry muffins with the additional sugar and they were excellent! We enjoyed these with our morning coffee, and I have added these to our cookbook for future use! Loved them! Thanks Linda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I had some raspberries I had to use up and saw this recipe for plain muffins, so I decided to try this one. They were awesome! They rose nicely and muffins were good sized. The muffins were sweet enough with the 1/2 c. sugar. We enjoyed with our morning cup of cocoa. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      It was damp and rainy here this morning and I was in the mood for some muffins, so I decided to make some. These muffins are SO DELICIOUS! I had them with a nice hot cup of chai tea and it was really a great treat for breakfaxt for me! They rose nicely and the flavor of the muffins were second to none! I will be making these often, as I can eat them on the run on busy mornings, which I seem to do often of these days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I had some blueberries that I had to use up this morning and decided to make these. They were so yummy. I had along with some hot chocolate and they sure hit the spot for breakfast. I will try these using apples and strawberries too. This is one delicious muffin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shirley's Plain or Blueberry Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 149.2
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    33%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 18.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 204.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes