Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / The Best Vegan Oat & Walnut Waffles (Or Pancakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Vegan Oat & Walnut Waffles (Or Pancakes)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2011

      I made these according to the recipe, except I used 2% milk instead of soy (I'm not a vegan - just a dude who ran out of eggs). I have to disagree with a couple of other posts in that I didn't miss the eggs at all. The waffles were just as crispy as any others I have made. My suggestion to anyone making waffles of any type is not to stack them after they're cooked. That makes them soggy. I wouldn't recommend this recipe to anyone who doesn't like walnuts (which I do), as that seemed to be the dominant flavour to me. We liked them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2014

      I made these waffles for my vegan stepson the day after Thanksgiving. He's a picky eater, and said that I could serve them in a restaurant! My husband, who's Belgian (home of the waffle), LOVED them, and I thought they were absolutely delicious. I made the batter exactly as written, but then thought that it looked a little thin....so I added some more oats and a little bit more whole wheat flour (and some vanilla extract because I love it). I have a round waffle iron, and this recipe only made 2 1/2 waffles. If you're making them for the whole family, I would double it. I've made at least 10 different versions of "healthy" waffles, and this was by far the best recipe I've used. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      We loved these! We were doing a vegan whole food diet. I used pecans and added blueberries. 2 T instead of 2 t baking powder for fluffy pancakes. This is our only recipe we will use from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Well I have to say when I was mixing the dry ingredients I thought to myself that's a lot of baking soda for such a small batch... and it was- we threw the first batch out as the baking soda came thru in the finished waffle. I started over using 1/2 tsp. baking soda... I also replaced the 1/4 c of whole wheat flour for ground flax seeds- the second attempt was much better but I recommend stirring in mashed banana or fresh berries

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      These turned out great!! I kept them in the waffle maker nice & long to get them super crispy. I actually made a double batch and froze them so when we need them I can just pop into the toaster. These are very subtantial...not a light waffle at all. What you get is great flavor and full!! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I'm sorry, but I did not like this. Even after tasting the batter I was apprehensive about cooking it into waffles. I followed this recipe precisely (I used butter and sugar) and the waffle had an odd taste and was very floppy. Even after dressing it up with fruit, syrup, and whipped cream I didn't like it. Sorry :[ I definitely missed the eggs in a waffle recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      It was really a great recipe! I used plain almond mil and added pure vanilla extract. I used coconut oil for my vegetable oil. I don't have plain nutmeg hanging around, but I do have pumpkin pie spice, so whenever a recipe calls for nutmeg, I use that. Instead of oats I used wheat germ, and I added ground flax seed. My kids have requested these ever since :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      I was excited to see a waffle recipe that didn't use eggs, however the waffles came out with the strangest taste. There was also only enough to make 3 waffles. I made some tweaks after tasting the first waffle and the batter could not be salvaged.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      I made these as stated. I wouldn't change a thing. These were the best waffles I have had EVER!! Even my DH loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Made these for brunch this morning, and WOW was I impressed! These are very good, especially for being eggless... I didn't miss the eggs at all. Like AmyZoe, I used regular milk instead of soy due to what I had on hand, but otherwise made as written. They went over very well in my house. My only problem is with the amount of batter the recipe yields; on my iron (which isn't all that big), I was able to get about 3 1/2 waffles... not quite the full four. This is a recipe that makes smaller-sized waffles, so plan accordingly. Next time I will probably double the recipe, and *if* I have one or two left over -- ;) -- I'll simply pop them into the freezer so I can reheat them later in the toaster for a quick breakfast. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Wow! I too was looking for an eggless waffle recipe because I didn't have any eggs. These are delicious! I didn't have any soy milk, and I used regular milk. Other than that, I followed the recipe as stated and was very impressed. These are quite tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      The best waffles I have EVER made! This recipe is a keeper. I didn't have eggs so I was on the hunt for a delish recipe that didn't need any and this one was PERFECT!! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Thanks for posting- these rocked! They cooked up much better than the last vegan waffles I attempted. My changes: I used whole wheat pastry flour, extra cinnamon, no walnuts and added about a tsp. of vanilla extract (b/c I had plain soymilk). Can't wait to try adding raisins or berries. Served with my apple-blueberry syrup. Z'oh-my-god-laugh-out-loud-wonderful waffles! (Sorry, had to say that, it's the favorite expression of a slightly insane friend of mine.) Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      These were very good. The nutmeg added a very interesting flavor, and the waffles were so filling, none of my family could eat more than one! These tasted very good with a chai tea, and made for a wonderful breakfast. Thanks! ~ For PAC 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Delicious! They're full of flavor. My carnivore husband said they tasted like snickerdoodle cookies and he loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      Very tasty! These were very easy to make and made a nice change from cereal... I'm not sure how I felt about the walnuts, and I may consider leaving them out or substituting flax the next time I make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      Delicious! We didn't have walnuts or nutmeg, but we did add raisins instead. The waffles were very good, and I know my animal product eating friends would absolutely love these! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Vegan Oat & Walnut Waffles (Or Pancakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.9
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    37%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 473.5 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vanilla-flavored soymilk

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes