Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / The Nation's Favourite - Podgy Porridge! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Nation's Favourite - Podgy Porridge!

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2011

      My mom always made "porridge" for us using milk instead of water, so maybe I do have some British bloodlines way back there :)! I did try to make it less "podgy" and used Simply Smart Fat Free Milk and Fat Free Half and Half instead of the full fat versions. This made for a "stick to your ribs" breakfast that kept me from getting hungry for about 6 hours!!! Very filling. Thanks for reminding me that I should eat my oats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Very very tasty....it definitely takes oats to a whole new level. I made this recipe using steel cut oats for lunch today. Only had to adjust the cooking time as they take longer to cook. I don't think I will ever be able to go back to cooking my oats in water again...so much for oats being heart healthy :). Thanks French Tart for posting this very scrumptious recipe. Made and reviewed for the 39th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Delish winter breakfast! This is THE best porridge I have ever tasted. For one serving I used 3/4 cup a mixture of both heavy cream and plain rice milk instead of the full-fat milk, 3/4 cup oats, and creamy honey in the mixture. For the single cream I used a 1/4 cup of heavy cream mixed with plain rice milk. On top I sprinkled brown sugar. I would make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Oh my, this was sinfully yummy! There is no reason to ever have those instant packets again! Made as written and topped with brown sugar. My boys will love this when I make it again tomorrow. FT, thanks for another scrumptious recipe! Made for Virtual Culinary Cruise 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I was looking for an indulgent comfort food for breakfast, and decided to make this, and, like previous reviewers, I think this is a recipe much better than the sum of it's parts. I made it exactly according to the recipe(full-fat), except I added some fresh grated nutmeg with the cinnamon. Amazing with some fresh fruits...i think i'll make it in the fall and add raisins in with the oats, and cook some chopped apples(I live in apple country....lots of wonderful local apples) in the cream before i mix it in-Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      A great and healthy start for the day, especially a cold one like this day. I loved it! I did use the cream and it was amazing! I din't think the calories this time! A classic English breakfast! Thanks!!! Made it for 12 Days of Chistmas swap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Eating this now. Fabulous and comforting and delicious!! Listen, you only live once, please try the full fat version, once. Also, am an American (living overseas in Asia) that has a Brit friend who introduced us to golden syrup - wow! You HAVE to try with this recipe - brown sugar/honey don't come close in taste - think corn syrup but buttery and thick and incredibly delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I am still trying to get over how good this porridge is - a great start to my day! Even without the cream and using semi-skimmed milk, this is deliciously decadent and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Yummy Breakfast - Hubby made this for Sunday morning breakfast and we all enjoyed it. We used lactose free milk but kept everything else the same. I also "garnished" mine with ground cinnamon, honey and raw sugar. Thanks French Tart

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      This was great! I added the littlest pinch of nutmeg and used fat-free milk instead (omitting the cream), but I loved how creamy and decadent it seemed to be. I also kept stirring it and it seemed to cook quicker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Photo-Tag game: This was really yummy. It was so smooth and creamy. I used maple syrup instead of honey an also sprinkled a bit of fresh nutmeg along with the cinnamon. I'll never go back to my way of making porridge anymore! Thanks FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Mmmmmm, so good! I eat a LOT of porridge but usually just make it the old oats n milk way. The addition of honey and cinnamon was fantastic and stirring through the cream (or low fat Elmlea in my case) was wonderful as it made the porridge so rich and creamy! I topped it off with a hefty spoonful of golden syrup and troughed it up in minutes! Thanks for a definite keeper French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Nation's Favourite - Podgy Porridge!

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.2
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    39%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 52.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 101.1 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites