12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My mom always made "porridge" for us using milk instead of water, so maybe I do have some British bloodlines way back there :)! I did try to make it less "podgy" and used Simply Smart Fat Free Milk and Fat Free Half and Half instead of the full fat versions. This made for a "stick to your ribs" breakfast that kept me from getting hungry for about 6 hours!!! Very filling. Thanks for reminding me that I should eat my oats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 19, 2011

Very very tasty....it definitely takes oats to a whole new level. I made this recipe using steel cut oats for lunch today. Only had to adjust the cooking time as they take longer to cook. I don't think I will ever be able to go back to cooking my oats in water again...so much for oats being heart healthy :). Thanks French Tart for posting this very scrumptious recipe. Made and reviewed for the 39th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate April 08, 2010

Delish winter breakfast! This is THE best porridge I have ever tasted. For one serving I used 3/4 cup a mixture of both heavy cream and plain rice milk instead of the full-fat milk, 3/4 cup oats, and creamy honey in the mixture. For the single cream I used a 1/4 cup of heavy cream mixed with plain rice milk. On top I sprinkled brown sugar. I would make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 22, 2010

Oh my, this was sinfully yummy! There is no reason to ever have those instant packets again! Made as written and topped with brown sugar. My boys will love this when I make it again tomorrow. FT, thanks for another scrumptious recipe! Made for Virtual Culinary Cruise 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrimQuilter September 06, 2009

I was looking for an indulgent comfort food for breakfast, and decided to make this, and, like previous reviewers, I think this is a recipe much better than the sum of it's parts. I made it exactly according to the recipe(full-fat), except I added some fresh grated nutmeg with the cinnamon. Amazing with some fresh fruits...i think i'll make it in the fall and add raisins in with the oats, and cook some chopped apples(I live in apple country....lots of wonderful local apples) in the cream before i mix it in-Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Louisa S. August 02, 2009

A great and healthy start for the day, especially a cold one like this day. I loved it! I did use the cream and it was amazing! I din't think the calories this time! A classic English breakfast! Thanks!!! Made it for 12 Days of Chistmas swap!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia December 30, 2008

Eating this now. Fabulous and comforting and delicious!! Listen, you only live once, please try the full fat version, once. Also, am an American (living overseas in Asia) that has a Brit friend who introduced us to golden syrup - wow! You HAVE to try with this recipe - brown sugar/honey don't come close in taste - think corn syrup but buttery and thick and incredibly delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shangrilajewel July 02, 2008

I am still trying to get over how good this porridge is - a great start to my day! Even without the cream and using semi-skimmed milk, this is deliciously decadent and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cem March 10, 2008

Yummy Breakfast - Hubby made this for Sunday morning breakfast and we all enjoyed it. We used lactose free milk but kept everything else the same. I also "garnished" mine with ground cinnamon, honey and raw sugar. Thanks French Tart

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer October 14, 2007

This was great! I added the littlest pinch of nutmeg and used fat-free milk instead (omitting the cream), but I loved how creamy and decadent it seemed to be. I also kept stirring it and it seemed to cook quicker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hellokitty September 19, 2007
The Nation's Favourite - Podgy Porridge!