10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are the most beautiful natural eggs I have ever seen. My granddaughter did not want to make them when I first described them. But when we started wrapping our eggs in various leaves and onion skins, she started having fun. When we unwrapped the eggs, it was like Christmas. We were so giddy and excited to see what each one would look like. We used brown and red onion skins, purple cabbage leaves and pigweed leaves (because I forgot to buy spinach). [pigweed is a wild edible amaranth plant that grows like mad here] Happy Easter and thanks so much for giving us a new way to make our Easter Eggs!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phunny Pharmer April 22, 2011

Very easy and funny! I wrapped the eggs in used plastic bags, made small cuts with knive to let going inside. Then WOW

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde April 10, 2011

Great fun! I tried this with some red cabbage leaves, and my eggs turned the prettiest shade of light BLUE. This also brought back memories--my mom's family used to make Easter eggs this way. Thanks for posting! Made for Spring 2010 PAC.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl April 02, 2010

This is so cool. I love this idea. DH said, "I know we won't have the grandkids this Easter, but lets make some boiled eggs anyway." So, I remembered I had put this recipe in my "To Try" cookbook last year and I had also put some big onion skins away sometime back. This was easy and a really way to make eggs, will have to do this again next year.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas April 12, 2009

These are so pretty and easy to do. Showed my friends at Bible Study how to do this and they were impressed also. Thank you for sharing this - too much fun!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef C C April 02, 2009

I forgot to review this recipe last Easter and as this Easter comes,I'll be making these again. They are fun to make and so easy. The patterns that are created on the eggs are great and they make a wonderful centerpiece. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH March 31, 2009

We used to do these with our kids when they were little. It was always a fun way to do the eggs. We used rubber bands and old rags, but essentially, the same method, but with a twist. We put rice, or leaves or other organic stuff between the onion skin and the eggs. It made some great patterns on the eggs. The foil sounds much easier. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hag chef March 19, 2008

I make these with my mom! No extra cost of buying dyes. But we just add the skins right to the water no foil, string or wrapping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 14, 2007

excellent. i am so sorry to just be rating this now. my 3 yr old daughter and i did this at easter and the results were just lovely. thank you for sharing this with us. we are off to try more of your wonderful recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer in new jersey May 12, 2007

Loved it! I needed 3 hardboiled eggs for a salad and needed onions for another recipe so this was perfect timing. I tied the first 2 eggs in onion skins and string, but one wasn't tied carefully enough so slipped out then the water boiled and was evenly brown in colour, the third egg I wrapped in onion skins and aluminum foil and while the patterns were there, it wasn't nearly as intense or dramatic in the shades of colour as the egg where the string stayed on.I only had yellow onions and found them to work just fine. Easy recipe and fun to do with the kids when they are a little older as they are a little young and heavy handed to attempt to wrap raw eggs just yet. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for an easy and decrative egg recipe that will be on our menu next Easter. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch April 14, 2007
Traditional Easter Marbled Pace Eggs