10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's really nice to stumble upon one of my recipes posted online that includes credit - thanks to the uploader! I am still around, you can find more of my recipes at trulylowcarb.com and learnlowcarb,com. I still eat this cereal quite often, too. Guess I should share this one on my blog/facebook judging by the nice reviews here. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trulylowcarb October 02, 2012

I've been eating low carb for a long time and missed hot cereal. This is great, i toasted my bran and oat bran turned out wonderful. A little butter ,cream nutmeg and cinnamon. It does have a slight slick feel from the Flax but after the first bite i did not notice it. Can't wait for breakfast now.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLA October 12, 2010

I have been making my own version of this with soy lecithin granules and psyllium husks for a couple of months now and I love it!! I was getting super tired of eggs for breakfast and this makes a great change. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peachy_pie August 20, 2009

This is a great hot cereal. I cut the amount of water per serving to 1/3 cup because I like my hot cereal thicker. I made as written for the mix, but may cut protein powder in half and up the amount of oat bran. (I don't care much for the flavor of protein powder) I really like the almonds and sunflower seed in this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey March 08, 2009

This is a good alternative to my oatmeal I eat most mornings. I took the advice of the previous review and 1 1/2 x's the amount per serving. The only thing I omitted were the sunflower seeds. In place of I used my food processor to grind 3/4 cups of almonds and walnuts. Since I don't eat meat this is another great idea for me to get my protein. Thanks!!! Made for PRMR~

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB March 07, 2009

At first the texture was a little strange but now I just love it. It's a great change from eggs for a low-carb breakfast. Quick, easy, and yummy. I double the recipe because I eat it almost every day:)Thanks so much Sweet Bamboo!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Romie September 27, 2008

Just made this for the first time. Used Chia seeds vs Flax, unroasted Walnuts vs Almonds...added Cinnamon. Fantastic! There are so many variations, I can't wait to try with sugar-free coffee syrups and fruits. Apart from day-to--day use, this will make fantastic camping breakfast too. I add boiling water to a bowl to prevent micro-spill overs.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pragmatech January 27, 2013

This was a God send, as I was so tired of eggs, bacon, sausages, etc. for breakfast and I really missed my hot cereal! You must let it sit after cooking for 2 minutes to thicken, at which time I add a pad of butter, a sprinkle of cinnamon and a tsp. of Splenda...yum! The first time I made it with almonds as directed, but since I ran out, I used chopped walnuts instead and it still tasted wonderful. Thanks for sharing this great recipe (even my non-low carb kids loved it!).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Likkel May 22, 2011

So glad we tried this. A really good change from oatmeal. We loved the nut flavor. Made as written using whey protein powder. It does take the full 2 minutes to thicken up. Am looking forward to taking your suggestion of adding cranberries. Also thought dates and walnuts would be tasty in it. Will definitely be making again as it has been placed in with out favorites book. Thanks so much for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 22, 2010

Great breakfast. I think this would be equally great with different flavors of protein powders. I didn't need to add any flavored syrup to this before eating as it already had a sweet enough vanilla flavor. My only change was to sub pecans for the sunflower seeds. I'm glad I made a full batch. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie October 24, 2013
Truly Low Carb Hot Cereal