Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Truly Low Carb Hot Cereal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Truly Low Carb Hot Cereal

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2012

      It's really nice to stumble upon one of my recipes posted online that includes credit - thanks to the uploader! I am still around, you can find more of my recipes at trulylowcarb.com and learnlowcarb,com. I still eat this cereal quite often, too. Guess I should share this one on my blog/facebook judging by the nice reviews here. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      I've been eating low carb for a long time and missed hot cereal. This is great, i toasted my bran and oat bran turned out wonderful. A little butter ,cream nutmeg and cinnamon. It does have a slight slick feel from the Flax but after the first bite i did not notice it. Can't wait for breakfast now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      I have been making my own version of this with soy lecithin granules and psyllium husks for a couple of months now and I love it!! I was getting super tired of eggs for breakfast and this makes a great change. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This is a great hot cereal. I cut the amount of water per serving to 1/3 cup because I like my hot cereal thicker. I made as written for the mix, but may cut protein powder in half and up the amount of oat bran. (I don't care much for the flavor of protein powder) I really like the almonds and sunflower seed in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This is a good alternative to my oatmeal I eat most mornings. I took the advice of the previous review and 1 1/2 x's the amount per serving. The only thing I omitted were the sunflower seeds. In place of I used my food processor to grind 3/4 cups of almonds and walnuts. Since I don't eat meat this is another great idea for me to get my protein. Thanks!!! Made for PRMR~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      At first the texture was a little strange but now I just love it. It's a great change from eggs for a low-carb breakfast. Quick, easy, and yummy. I double the recipe because I eat it almost every day:)Thanks so much Sweet Bamboo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Just made this for the first time. Used Chia seeds vs Flax, unroasted Walnuts vs Almonds...added Cinnamon. Fantastic! There are so many variations, I can't wait to try with sugar-free coffee syrups and fruits. Apart from day-to--day use, this will make fantastic camping breakfast too. I add boiling water to a bowl to prevent micro-spill overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      This was a God send, as I was so tired of eggs, bacon, sausages, etc. for breakfast and I really missed my hot cereal! You must let it sit after cooking for 2 minutes to thicken, at which time I add a pad of butter, a sprinkle of cinnamon and a tsp. of Splenda...yum! The first time I made it with almonds as directed, but since I ran out, I used chopped walnuts instead and it still tasted wonderful. Thanks for sharing this great recipe (even my non-low carb kids loved it!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      So glad we tried this. A really good change from oatmeal. We loved the nut flavor. Made as written using whey protein powder. It does take the full 2 minutes to thicken up. Am looking forward to taking your suggestion of adding cranberries. Also thought dates and walnuts would be tasty in it. Will definitely be making again as it has been placed in with out favorites book. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      Great breakfast. I think this would be equally great with different flavors of protein powders. I didn't need to add any flavored syrup to this before eating as it already had a sweet enough vanilla flavor. My only change was to sub pecans for the sunflower seeds. I'm glad I made a full batch. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Truly Low Carb Hot Cereal

    Serving Size: 1 (19 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 95.2
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    70%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    protein powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites