Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2003

      Wonderful. Light and tasty. I was making these to freeze for my sons breakfasts. Ate 3 myself already! Need to make some more. After making these, I have no idea why I am wasting my money on pancake mixes! So easy and very quick. Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      Great recipe! I used all whole wheat flour, made my buttermilk with vinegar and milk and added a dash of cinnamon. Consistency was perfect for me, not too thick at all. My two year old loved these, topped with strawberry jam. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      These were good. Not the best pancakes I've ever had, but fast and somewhat healthy. I would have liked to have some flax meal in them, so I might sub some of the oil for flax next time. My daughters and husband liked them, but to be 5 star they would have had to have been healthier or eaten all up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      These were really good...light and fluffy. I love that they have some whole wheat. I used plain yogurt thinned with some milk in place of buttermilk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This is identical to the recipe on the back of the Saco powdered buttermilk container, except that theirs calls for 4 tablespoons powdered buttermilk and a cup of water. These are just wonderful pancakes- I haven't used any other recipe in over ten years. A nice thing about using the powdered buttermilk is you can measure what you need and store the container in the fridge indefinitely. I've posted a spin-off of this recipe that includes fresh mashed bananas; it's recipe number 377087.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I made these for my husband & a few family members for Sunday morning & they were a hit! I didn't expect them to be so thick so I had to take my time to make sure the insides were cooked through. The combo of whole wheat/white was nice, too-husband didn't seem to mind the whole wheat part! I didn't use any salt, replaced the oil with applesauce & used low fat buttermilk & Eggbeaters. Wonderful that they're low fat, too; so easy to make. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      My kids really liked these. I only changed the oil out for applesauce and added cinnamon and wheat germ. These really was a good recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Light, fluffy and easy! I would make these again. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Instead of mixing flours, I used 1 cup of white whole wheat flour. The resulting batter was so thick that I added some skim milk to thin it out to a good pancake consistency. Otherwise I followed the directions exactly. Mr. Picky asked for seconds, even though I didn't add chocolate chips to the batter--there isn't much higher praise than that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Really good. The batter was so thick that it was hard to get them completely cooked through without burning them, so next time I'm going to add more buttermilk. I think I'll increase the proportion of wheat flour next time too, but they were delicious just as they were!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      My family and I enjoyed these very much. Healthy eating sure tastes good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Good and healthy. Very easy to make. I added fresh blueberries. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

    • on May 25, 2009

      These are great. I made recipe as is with just a dash of cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Recipe works very well exactly as written. We just ate them for dinner, and everyone loved them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I made these for Christmas breakfast. They were fast and easy. I doubled the recipe and made about 20 pancakes. I added fresh blueberries and dried cranberries and instead of oil, used applesauce. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      I veganized this recipe using 1/2 c soy yogurt and 1/2 c water instead of buttermilk and Ener-G egg replacer for the egg, but this needed a lot more liquid than it called for since the batter was too thick. Once I added more soymilk to the mix, these pancakes were spectacular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      These puff up to a very nice fluffy pancake. Although the batter looked very thick, the pancake cooked up very nicely. After the first, we added skim milk to make the batter more pourable and they were great too! One note, we did half oil and half apple sauce (1 TBS each) and doubled the sugar. We made 6 large pancakes, this would be a hearty breakfast for 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      these were delicious!!!! I never have buttermilk on hand, so I subbed in plain yogurt and had to add just a little milk to make it the right consistency. Most whole wheat pancakes I've tried have been dry and too dense---these were perfect! I topped them with banana curd (http://www.recipezaar.com/152882), fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      These pancakes are great. I substituted Splenda for the sugar to make them sugar free and egg beaters for the egg to make them cholesterol free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (457 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.6
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    37%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 16.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 158.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes