13 Reviews

Delicious, light, golden-brown waffles. DH awarded them one of his few 5-star ratings. I followed the recipe exactly, but ended up adding about 1/4 cup more liquid. Very easy to mix and store. Although I usually prefer pancakes, these were extremely good. NOTE: The batter expands (rises) quite a bit when refrigerated, so mix and store in large container.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachGirl September 20, 2003

Loved this recipe, crisp outside and light fluffy texture inside, and so easy to mix together. The only think I did different was add 2 teaspoons of vanilla to the mix. These were a huge hit at my place and will be on a regular rotation. Served with warm apple pie filling and whipped cream. Perfect combo for this early fall weather.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 14, 2014

My family just didn't care for these. The taste was okay, but the texture wasn't to their liking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avoda September 19, 2006

These were way too yeasty for my tastes. I felt like the flavor was way too overwhelming. On a positive note they are the only waffles I have made that turned out crispy so that saved them from only 2 stars, but I just didn't like them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darling76 June 16, 2006

Made these waffles for my co-workers here at the jail... they LOVED them. The batter looked awful and sticky but made the BEST waffles anyone has ever eaten. Thank You from all of us at the YMC Jail!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKompelien April 10, 2006

This is a great recipe! I made a few slight changes to adapt it to our diet. I used egg subsitute, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and "enova" oil. I found them to be just as good as with real eggs. I also find that these come off the iron crisp but as they cool they become soggy. I like to let them cool than toast them. They seem to hold the crisp better this way and it sure beats store bought! Thanks for a good recipe Leslie-keep em coming!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauriann Mosillami August 06, 2004

I really liked these!! I mixed up the batter the night before to make the morning rush easier. The batter keeps well too. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 18, 2004

These are the best waffles ever! Thanks for the recipe they turned out perfect. I want to try them now with ice cream and hotfudge sauce :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen Talbot May 10, 2004

Excellent flavor and how wonderful that you can make it on the weekend and enjoy waffles all week. Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl March 09, 2004

I love this recipe and my boyfriend will do pretty much anything if I will make these for him (I won't ever tell him how easy they are!) I will usually whip these up while making dinner the night before. I love them with a little cool whip free and some defrosted blackberries...yummy! I make these on my regular cusinart waffle iron...and they come out light and crunchy on the outside. The cook quick and get dark a little too fast so keep an eye out...I make them on the lowest setting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madrigal_singer March 01, 2004
Yeast Waffles