Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Breakfast / Yukon Sourdough Flapjacks (Pancakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Yukon Sourdough Flapjacks (Pancakes)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2009

      Pancakes never tasted as good as they smell UNTIL I found this recipe. We love this one. The flapjacks are tender, but firm enough to use as "bread" for breakfast sandwiches. We make them with sausage, egg, cheese, and a brush of maple syrup. Love this recipe! Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      Made these for breakfast this morning trying to find something a little differant for a treat for DH and OMG!!! This is it. We both love sourdough ever since you first introduced me to it on this site and this was soo good. Light, fluffy and tender. Served with bacon and hot coffee and we both loved it just as written. I think next time I might even add a teaspoon of vanilla. The perfect pancake. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      Want to try this with the BP as mine weren't what I thought they should be. I have a young sourdough so that may be part of the problem too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      These were very good. My second favorite of all time, but the three kids thoughts these were even better than the regular recipe. In fact three kids ages 4, 3, and 1 ate the whole batch except for 2 pancakes. We put corn cob jelly on them, oh and apple peel jelly. And I ate mine plain because I'm weird that way. Good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      Love the light yet hearty texture of these cakes. The flavor is wonderful too! Fantastic with syrup or strawberry preserves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      A very solid sourdough pancake recipe that you can't go wrong with.

      I used wheat flour at the end to thicken the mixture. Next time I won't make it quite as thick since doing so makes the pancakes pour out in more oval shapes instead of round. I'm also going to try 2 eggs instead of one to see if I can get a little more rise out of the pancakes.

      The flavor was delicious, and the older your starter, the better they will be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      These turned out tough, chewey and not very flavorful. I used a sourdough starter which has worked beautifully before, so I am not sure what went wrong with this. Thanks for giving us something new to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      These were easy to halve and delicious to eat; thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

    • on December 27, 2009

      Lovely! Light and fluffy. I also skipped the soda and did the milk and flour. These were divine pancakes. I also sprinkled blueberries on top of the pancakes while the first side was cooking. My only complaint is that my starter is only a couple of months old, so they weren't very tangy, but I can't wait to try again and again as the starter ages. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Really good!! I chose to skip the baking soda and take the slower path with milk and flour. They were delicious. I'm visiting with family for the holidays and none of them profess to like sourdough. They liked these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

    • on October 12, 2009

      Delicious! Everyone loved ... the hubby and all 3 boys! We will definitely make these again and try to plan ahead for the longer version. But the short version was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Update to this post-- I made these pancakes again with blueberries and the combo was awesome.Thx again These pancakes are by far the very best I have ever had!!! I just developed my sourdough starter a few days ago and this is my second time using it! I used starter #13750 by Bergy but used potato water instead of regular water and what a difference. She also has a sourdough bread recipe to go with it #13716 it's outstanding. I think the potato water really kicked up my starter. I used 1 cup of my starter(the whole thing) and added 2 cups of flour and 2 cups warm water and 1t. sugar. Stirred it all together and let it sit out all night. In the morning, after washing my starter jar, I put 1 cup plus alittle more back into the jar and into the fridge for next time. What I had left in the bowl I added the egg, oil, sugar, salt and 2 cups flour and 1/2 cup warm milk. Stirred well and let sit for 1 hour. I like my batter thick, but add less flour for thinner pancakes. My pancakes came out fluffy, slightly sour, and a little chew to them. This was so good. The mix of all this with a bit of sweetness from the syrup was over the top! You have got to try this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Great pancakes! We could definitely taste the sourdough, even when buried beneath maple syrup. I used about 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and it was a perfect consistency. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      I was so excited to make these, however I must have done something wrong. The flavor was good, but the texture was very gummy. Everyone still ate them though! I followed the alternate directions and omitted the baking soda. I'm going to try again and then I'll rate them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      These were excellent. I skipped the baking soda, opting to use the alternate ingredients and instructions noted at the end of the recipe. Thanks for posting, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2006

      Another great sourdough recipe from Donna! I made these for breakfast today and we inhaled them! I think next time I'll use a tad less flour so they'll be a bit fluffier but the taste was marvelous. My 3 yo son ate 3 pancakes and was asking for more but by that time they were gone! (Note to self: Make a double batch next time.) Very yummy Donna! I'll make these again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      As I seem to be 'sourdough hooked' - this is a great way to use up some starter. It leaves your guests with the "MAN.. What is IN these, they are sooo good!" A bit 'zippier' than the traditional pancake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2005

      I have made sourdough pancakes for the last 3 Saturdays thanks to this recipe. I LOVE the no soda option. My sourdough like Pumacreek is also Whole wheat and I have varied between WW and unbleached all purpose and have even taken to adding some oat bran and blue berries, each time it is delicious. My starter is VERY sour, as are the pancakes I make...but that is the way I like it. Thanks Donna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Yukon Sourdough Flapjacks (Pancakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 34.1
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    70%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 155.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sourdough starter

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites